Red…

I’ve spent today cutting wood and putting up shelves, then cooking Sunday lunch (or more accurately de-frosting some beef stew to use in a suet crust pie).  My back aches.  I feel very happy with my achievements, the shelves (in our utility room, using some Ikea brackets and left over oak floorboards) have had a coat of Danish Oil and tomorrow I plan to fill them with nice things like vases, that have spent too long in boxes in our shed.  All in all it’s been a good day.

Yesterday I managed a little sewing in amongst a hectic but fun day, some little berry brooches that are also a sneak peek of my next woodland animal.  Hopefully I’ll finish up the rest of the project and get photos taken soon.

It made me realise how much red there is on my desk at the moment, I do like a bit of dark red, especially at this time of year.

I bought another lovely remembrance poppy from Wychbury earlier this month.  As always, I put my money in the collection tins, but I now have two of these for the boys to wear as they always lose their paper poppies the same day we pin them on.  We were very lucky so see some of the remembrance parade in York on Sunday 11th, it was pure coincidence, but I was glad the boys got to see and therefore understand better, what remembrance day is all about.

I was super lucky to win a giveaway on Saffa’s lovely paper cutting blog, a rather fabulous red bookmark which is now marking the page in one of the many books I’m reading at the moment.  Thanks Saffa :)

Also on my desk are some Christmas postcards ready to tuck away, although not for all that long, the boys are counting down the days!

They are made by the Rifle Paper Co (I think) but bought from my new favourite on-line stationery shop Papermash.  I also snook in some blank Folk cards as a girl can never have too many pretty blank cards.

Ok, I need to go and get organised for another busy school week, laundry to fold and homework to check then hopefully a sit down with a nice glass of wine :)

9 thoughts on “Red…

  1. Oh Beth, your desk is looking very pretty with all the red going on! Everything is looking very festive! Oh my god, i cant wiat to see your next woodland animal, i love the little red jackets with the berries, amazing!!! They are very christmasy indeed…I’m so glad my bookmark is at home at your place, thanks as well for the mention, kind as ever…also so glad you got some domestic shelve things done in your day, it’s always satisfying to know its a job less to worry about. Just got back from Exeter and really enjoyed your post, thank you :) safxxx

  2. I love days when you can feel a sense of achievement at the end.
    Red is my favourite colour, so I’m loving all the Red in today’s post, and look forward to seeing your new woodland folk.
    Enjoy your glass of wine – I just wish Sunday evenings could be longer.
    xxxx
    PS – hope you’re going to be entering my giveaway. Wouldn’t want you to miss out on winning some crafty goodies.

  3. lucky you winning such a fab bookmark. I have a thing for paper cutting! Your berry brooches are very lovely too.
    Thanks for stopping by Beth. Sorry you won’t be around to come to CL but do tell your family to stop by and say hi! x

  4. Hi Beth, it feels good to get something finished doesn’t it. I love red at this time of the year…very festive. Enjoy the countdown to Christmas. I love those Berries, everyone admires my oak brooch whenever I wear it ;0)
    Jane x

  5. I cant wait to see what you come up with next, if I could I would buy one of everything! wonky or not! Keep up the fantastic work.

Leave a Reply

