Hello world!

To blog or not to blog?  That was the question and after an age of wondering will I have the time?  Will anyone read it anyway?  I can’t resist any longer.  I find it so fascinating reading the details of other peoples lives that I have decided to make time and start recording my own. 

First, a little introduction.  I am a wife and Mother of two very energetic young boys.  My first job is raising my family but I am addicted to sewing and crafting and have a online shop thelinencat.com .

I have always been interested in art and textiles.  My Gran taught me to embroider and my Mother to sew.  I have a degree in Theater Design, specializing in Costume which allowed me to combine most of my interests.  I love vintage and have a large collection of clothing and objects that I prize (or a load of old rubbish as my husband would say). I would love to say I adore making roman blinds and decorating as this is where most of my artistic talents have gone over the last few years but to be honest, I do these things out of necessity.  I like the details.  My immediate environment is very important to me, especially as I am a stay-at-home mum, so I do put a lot of effort into creating a nice home and garden but I love making items for my shop.  I have too many ideas and not enough time, but don’t we all?

I think that’s enough for now.  I can see already that my tendency to waffle may be a problem, but hey, that’s just me 🙂

2 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. I discovered your site this weekend, in my search for new and interesting connections. Love your comments about life and your art. Watching your family grow is my treat; seeing as I scrolled all the way down to the very bottom of your blog to discover it all. Few! That took a few hours. I knit, quilt, and needlepoint so know the satisfaction of making things myself. Will keep checking in with you, dear girl. I’m 58 and will reach my 1st anniversary of being retired in April ~ a year I dedicated to being creative and discovering new things. I live in the country near a hamlet called Millarville, near the city of Calgary in Alberta, Canada. Our environment is prairie, foothills, and mountains – forests, wildflowers, creeks, and rich ranch lands.
    ~ Janette

Leave a Reply

