It’s mine all mine…

When we bought this house we had a plan of what we wanted to achieve.   Part of that dream for me was that I would have a space of my own to work in, to decorate the way I choose and that Marcus would also have the same.  To this end we planned that the spare bedroom (an extension to the existing house with kitchen downstairs and one entire wall of glass on the front) would also be a study.  

For the last few years it has been a joint space with a desk we can both use as Marcus works from home on Fridays.  Well last year,  I pointed out that as M only really uses it on Fridays and I need to sew on and off all week that I needed the room to work better for me.  Over a weekend I took action, I moved the old Ikea shelving brackets up from our ‘back kitchen’ and updated them with new wood, I took the tressle dinner table which we had stored folded (to create room for the children to play) upstairs and made a ‘little’ space of my own – hee hee.  Marcus finally gave up and I set him up with a desk on the top floor (I would like to point out he will eventually be getting an office built in the garden when funding allows, all to himself.  This was always the plan).

I love it.  It has made such difference.  I know my poor husband was a bit upset to be kicked out and he did try to fight it but it has been the most important thing I have done along with setting up ‘The Linen Cat’ in recent years.  This is the first time I have had a studio space since I gave over the spare room of my flat to be M’s office when we first met.  It allows me to sew upstairs and leave everything out instead of having to clear away for meal times and have fabric taking over the kitchen.  I can have buttons, beads and threads to hand and know that they are safely out of reach of little fingers.

Studiodsc_0001dsc_0020dsc_00242

As with all studio spaces of sewing folk there is the obligatory glass jars full of buttons and beads and in my case the samples that I can’t bare to throw in the bin, so they sit huddled together on the shelf (along with a knitting mouse I made for my Gran when I was young).

Also, as always the fixtures and fittings are an eclectic collection of old and new.  The rather splendid oak table came from Trainspotters and is an old trestle table that has been stripped and waxed.  The chair was bragged from The Imperial War Museum, where I worked a number of years ago.  I had to wheel it home which took rather  along time.   I since discovered it’s a design classic and I’m not sure they would have been throwing it out had they known.  On it is a new cushion made in Echino fabric bought from CelticFushion fabrics.

The table lamp and shelving is from Ikea – they have the best and cheapest lighting at the moment – we have bought rather a lot from there as of late.  The little dolly trolly holding my fabric is one my Dad made when at school.  My Mother was about to throw it out last year but with a bit of TLC it has been given a new life.

Finally and just in shot is a filing cabinet that came from MetroRetro.

3 thoughts on “It’s mine all mine…

  1. you lucky thing!! your space looks wonderful. at the moment our sewing table is tucked into the corner of our living room with ever increasing piles of fabrics surrounding it!

  2. I am VERY lucky Bex. This is the first house/home that I have managed a work space and I know lots of other people would love to have the same so I really appreciate it. It was well worth the years living with builders hammering away!

  3. Pingback: New supplies and a bit of organisation… « The Linen Cat Blog

Leave a Reply

