Pretty Packaging…

As I am always chattering about detail, I thought I would do a packaging blog.  One of the nice things about ordering from individuals as opposed to big companies is the detail in the packaging.  I love receiving nice parcels wrapped in tissue and ribbon.  The boys get very excited if free sweets are involved (we have had a few mini packets of Haribo in our time amongst others), I have had some lovely bookmark cards and I love a pretty business card….I am thinking of getting a spot in my studio, just for displaying business cards.  Some of the big companies also do it well, ISAK are sending out their new trays etc in a bag (the below was a recent Wedding present I bought for a friend, it’s one of those great repeat gifts, I also bought it for my husband on our 5yr Wedding Anniversary as 5yrs is wood and the tray is made from birch).

 

Blossom and Bill tray by Isak with it's delivery bag.

Blossom and Bill tray by ISAK with it's delivery bag.

I notice that MOO MiniCards pop up a lot.  I am also a big fan of these, they cost £10 for 100 and you can have up to 100 digital images.  I have used these as party invites in the past, I am a fan of their NoteCards and stickers as well.

 

MOO print MiniCards for The Linen Cat

MOO print MiniCards for The Linen Cat

With The Linen Cat I like to keep a colour theme going, green features a lot, both on my text and wrapping.  Bigger items are packed with a mini butterfly lavender bag attached to my business card.  I would love to be more eco-friendly but I also feel I have to be sure items arrive in a good condition, and certainly for the larger, pricier things (especially linen cats/bunnies) that generally means plastic features somewhere.  Sadly the bio-degradable plastic and ‘paper’ jiffys are very expensive, I hope eventually to be able to upgrade to these but at the moment I need to keep my costs down.  I do post in cardboard where possible. 

 

Owl Lavender Bags being packed for posting.

Owl Lavender Bags being packed for posting.

I can’t finish this post without a mention of some lovely recent deliveries.  I ordered the British Biscuit Box from Treaclezoo for my son’s Birthday (he is very into play food at the moment and it makes a change from plastic Gormiti or Ben 10) and it came beautifully packaged….notice the lovely stickers from MOO print, how cute are they?

 

British Biscuit Selection from Treaclezoo

British Biscuit Selection from Treaclezoo

And finally, purely for myself I had to order some postcards from HidenSeek as I am just a little bit in love with them.  This was the most delightful package to get, the envelope and hand written letter give a really personal touch and the business card is a beautiful object in it’s own right.

 

Postcards from HidenSeek/Hidden Eloise

Postcards from HidenSeek/Hidden Eloise

I am all for supporting small business and individuals and love that extra care and personal touch that you get.

7 thoughts on “Pretty Packaging…

  1. i found this post really interesting!! we’re still trying to hit the nail on our packaging at stuffednonsense, we use brown paper and wool/string with brown luggage tags. definatly going to check out moo! thanks!!
    x

    • I am a big fan of brown paper and string with luggage tags – sound great! I have a large stock of nice brown cardboard postage boxes (and apple green tissue), and then wrap these in brown paper for posting but my hubby pointed out how much wet mail we get and I got worried (I have a nice return address stamp in green ink for the back!) so I end up putting the large boxes/expensive items in plastic mail bags as well, which pushes up the price. Also, I sell a lot of single lavender bags so I now just put these into a small jiffy to keep postage costs down. (They go in an apple green kraft paper bag sealed with a MOO card with ribbon and green circle sticker – works quite well. I think you can buy waterproofed brown paper but it’s quite expensive).

      I love MOO print.

  2. oh! I hope you don’t mind me commenting here, but I’ve recently posted on the MOO blog about almost exactly this topic.

    http://www.moo.com/blog/2009/05/23/packaging-tips-for-crafters-makers-and-sellers-part-1/

    And actually, once I got started i realised there was quite a lot to say about it (hence this being part 1). Your packages look lovely, and I’m so pleased you’re able to use our services. I love your two tone ribbon – I think little touches like that really make the cards something you hold on too.

    Actually, my the next part of the article was on little extras, so the comments about the lavender bags are really interesting.

    Also – I love your bunny lavender bags!

    • Hi Denise, I don’t mind at all! The link to your MOO blog post on packaging is great, it really shows how well the MiniCards work and I love all the other tips. I feel a sticker order coming on…

  3. Hi Beth, I am with you all the way with the whole thoughtful packaging thing – so exciting to receive something that’s beautifully wrapped and you’re right, it’s always lovely to get a freebie, no matter how small.
    I’m definitely going to check out Moo – have been meaning to sort out business cards for ages, but thought it would be far more expensive. Your mini cards look fab – you’ve inspired me!!
    PS The Herb is fine – would take far more than a cut lip to put him off his grub!

  4. Pingback: That packaging post I’ve been promising for a while… « The Linen Cat Blog

  5. Pingback: Making my life easier: Postage & Packaging « The Linen Cat Blog

Leave a Reply

