I’m melting…

I feel like the witch in Wizard of Oz, only it’s the heat not water making me melt.  Me and half the country I believe, except those in the Yorkshire Dales, where I am informed it is raining (today at least).  I’m jealous as I can’t motivate myself to sew in this weather (if the truth be known I can’t motivate myself to do a lot really) and the poor garden is so dry I have to put extra effort into keeping the vegetable patch watered but I am leaving the rest to wilt.  To add to this we have just been away for a week and have come back to lots of ripe fruit in the garden so I have been busy making jam and jelly – yes, in this heat!!!

Anyhow, enough typical Brit moaning about the weather.  The studio/spare room is a general 28 degrees so I am just keeping the door shut and have abandoned working there for now.  That’s the price you pay for an entire wall of glass – fantastic light but during the rare heat waves, not the nicest place to be.  That means sewing is confined to the kitchen (again) and a nice juggling act of moving things around to make space throughout the day.

DSC_0279

This is where I work in the kitchen (the photo is from earlier this year hence the empty garden in the background and nice Amaryllis), one great benefit is I have learned to sew well at the machine standing up.  It’s great for the legs and I avoid back ache which I get if sitting at the machine for long periods.  

I have lots of ideas buzzing in my head but I am failing to get them made up into samples, instead I have been buying fabric!  Nothing like a bit of shopping therapy to get my enthusiasm going.  My fabric of choice is a cashmere and wool mix in pale camel, the kind of fabric you can’t pass without giving it a quick stroke (or that could just be me?!).  I would take a photo but I think it’s a bit boring.  I am thinking a new bunny/cat/alien/mouse/teddy…something for babies all soft and cuddly, but if it’s for a baby it has to washable so may have to think on it…more importantly, I am trying to get away from mainly being known for children’s toys, it wasn’t ever my intention and although my first love are the linen cats/bunnies I also enjoy making other things hence the new cushions (and many more things in the production line, if the heat goes down that is).

Halt everything.  I felt bad writing the above and the next day got my act into gear, got the sketch book and sewing kit out and got back on to work.  I had started work on some more linen cushions before going on holiday, based on sweet peas as they look so lovely in the garden and so I have decided to get the sketches worked up into samples.  I am making them for both my Mother and Aunt (who like the designs and have pre-ordered)…better make sure they meet top standards.  At this stage they look like this:

DSC_0298

Better get back to work or they will never be finished. I’ll post a photo once complete and now I am back into work mode there are a lot of other designs being made up so there should be a lots of nice posts to come.

6 thoughts on “I’m melting…

    • Glad you like the cushion so far, I rather like them so we’ll see how they turn out. My kitchen doesn’t look anything like the photo right now, I would be ashamed to let it be seen, sewing, jam making equipment and small boys toys are strewn everywhere. Madness!

  1. but the heat is good!! That is what a summer is supposed to be like… or maybe it’s my Italian body that finally feels ‘comfortable’?

    Anyway, as I’m writing this the heat is gone and it’s raining… nothing new here.

    Gorgeous cushions.

    • I know, I know. I think if I’m drinking a cocktail or sitting by a pool it works but I am useless whilst trying to clean/cook/garden/chase kids about. Showing my wet Yorkshire roots I think. I did get a lot of sewing done today as the rain poured down.

  2. Maybe I’m just lazy, but on the rare occasions it’s too hot to do any work, I make a conscious decision to take the day off, go to the beach or chill in the garden (I do sound lazy, don’t I?!) and make up the time on the days when the weather is more typically British – and let’s face it, there are enough of those! Don’t feel bad about it, the self employed need time off too!!
    Love the look of the cushion so far, can’t wait to see finished product!

    • Kirsty, you are so right, I think it was the returning from a holiday and having so much laundry/cleaning/getting back on top of the garden to do but definitely best to make the most of the lovely weather and just chill!

Leave a Reply

