Christmas Fairies…

I talk a lot about my love of hoarding, vintage and especially about my Gran’s belongings, at Christmas it is a custom for us to have her fairy on the tree.  We think it is from her early married days so probably mid 1930’s and sadly, is getting a little worse for wear so say the least.

DSC_0252

My Mother allowed me to use it for the last two years, as she spent Christmas with us (Grandchildren change everything) and I figured it was about time I made a copy before the original disintegrates entirely.  I had planned to make an exact copy of the original, in card and tissue, but realised that it would translate well into fabric so back in June when I was in ‘Wet Yorkshire ModeI treated myself to some new silk and got working on a sample.

I am amazed at how slow my design progress was on this one.  I sort of pottered on a bit every now and again, in fact, the silk inspired me to make my sweet pea cushions in July first.

DSC_0316

By September I figured I had better get a move on so some of the bodies were made, M remarked at the time that they looked like aliens and I fear he was not wrong.

DSC_0245

There are some rather cross and bog-eyed fairies in this batch but I rather think that’s the beauty of handmade, it would be boring if they were identical.  The wings were a bit tricky to stitch in the slippery silk

DSC_0236

but finally they are done, or the first few anyway.  They are a little plumper than the original (but aren’t we all!) and the hair has a definite Tammy Wynette feel, I am sure if I was designing them from sctatch they would be a little more stylised but I am pleased with the result.

DSC_0240DSC_0241

They are made in silk and wool, with the exception of the silver ric-rac.  I am not a fan of using glue, don’t know why as there is no real reason, but I had to UHU then stitch the hair into place and the backs have a long ribbon for tying them into the tree, or looping so they can be hung as an ornament.

DSC_0250DSC_0253

My final problem is trying get a true colour photo of the plum version.  As you can see I haven’t really nailed that one yet, even outside in natural light the colour is very off, in reality it’s a bright plum purple.

I am not sure how I will price these, they take an insane amount of work and the silk isn’t cheap but the price has to be affordable so I’ll need to think on that one.

Right, only a few more days of hand sewing to get the rest finished!

10 thoughts on “Christmas Fairies…

  1. Tammy Wynette, hahaha! They look lovely. Our tree-top decoration gets shabbier and sadder by the year, but I can’t find anything I’m willing to exchange it for yet.

    • The more I stitched the hair, the bigger it got! quite like it though, but the original is more good-fairy-wizard-of-oz than TW. I fear even though I have made a replacement, the tradition of Gran’s original fairy will mean it sits on our tree until it falls apart. Still, I like a bit of sentimental tradition.

    • Glad you like them. Yes, my Gran’s fairy is rather good for 80 yrs, she is held together on the back with sticky tape but still has bucket loads of charm!

  2. Tammy Wynette, Diana Dors, Glinda (I think that’s her name) the Good Witch…all perfectly wonderful people to sit atop one’s Christmas tree! These fairies are just fabulous and so original.

    I appreciate the “took me bloody hours to make/how much can I charge?” dilemma – it’s something that plagues me often. If you find the answer, do let me know!

  3. Hello!
    I have just come across your blog and thought I would say hello! Love the Amy Butler bags – my mum has made me and a friend one too and she said the same this as you about making them!

    Cute kittys too ! xx
    Sam x

    • Hello, hello! Love it when people say ‘hi’ and I have just been having a good nosey around your blog, which is a great read. I am rather putting off my last AB bag, but must get a move on as before you know it Christmas will have arrived!! Bethx

  4. Pingback: Dusting off the Baubles… « The Linen Cat Blog

  5. Pingback: Tree Fairies… | The Linen Cat Blog

Leave a Reply

