I’m back….sort of…

After the blog lull of the Easter Holidays everyone else seems to be back in the swing of things and I am feeling suitably guilty at my lack of posts.  We had a nice break, once we got over the flu/cold/eye infections, we made the most of the beautiful weather with lots of trips to our local parks, zoos and woods and there was a daily ‘picnic’ in the garden for the boys lunch.  I have to admit though, I was ready for them to go back to school, they had become a little bored towards the end and I was starting to feel like one of those stressed entertainers you see at some kids party, all smiles and jolly faces, frantically trying to keep the kids entertained but inside screaming, “get me out of here!”.

I was holding off blogging in the hope of showing you all my lovely new makes but I am finding myself distracted by the house which I want to Spring clean and decorate (and tidy first!) and there just aren’t enough hours in the day.  I have found time to made a start on some new Linen Cats and Bunnies,

there is a bit of a boy shortage in the shop plus it will soon be my 100th post so I am planning to give one away (I will hopefully be blogging the giveaway shortly, once the girls are completed).  As you can see I am enjoying the bright colours of Spring flowers in our garden and this is reflected in my fabric and trimmings choice.

That is, of course, the final distraction, April is rather a busy time in the garden but things are getting under control now so I should be able to spend some proper time in the studio soon and finally finish some of the projects in process, now wont that be nice!

25 thoughts on “I’m back….sort of…

    • Thanks! I grow them in my ‘cutting patch’ so I don’t feel guilty picking them for the house, it’s the first bunch this year but I wanted to brighten up the living room.

  1. Glad you are feeling better. Lovely flowers.
    LOL, I was feeling like that towards the end of the holiday. It was good to get my house back into some sort of state again.
    I am looking forward to seeing those little boys. I love their trousers,
    Have a good week,
    RAchael xx

    • I swear there was a relieved look on most Mums faces on Monday, not sure why this holiday was a tricky one, I usually enjoy having the boys around but I had most definitely had enough by the end! Agree on the getting the house back bit as well 😉

  2. the orla-ish fabric is lovely, it makes for some rather fetching neckerchiefs for the boy bunnies!! you would be proud of me…im actually growing stuff in the garden…currently…
    lettuce plants
    corguette
    wild flower,butterfly flower and cottage flower seeds
    potatoes
    onions
    sweet peas
    poppys
    and tomatoes!
    hope i havn’t bitten off more than i can chew!

    • Bex I’m most impressed! I think you’ve picked a great mix as well, I hope it goes well (is easy peasy, you’ll be fine) and you get the bug for next year, it’s so nice eating your own home grown food. Bx

  3. I love the bit you’ve written about feeling like a child’s entertainer, I’m glad I’m not the only one!
    The boys trousers are so cute, I want a pair! As for the flowers are they from your garden?

    • Yep, I have a cutting patch in the garden for flowers as well as the raised veg beds so I can pick without guilt! (I want the trousers as well).

  4. Nice to see you back Beth!
    Those little trousers are too cute. 🙂
    Your flowers are beautiful, I still can’t bring myself to cut the flowers in my own garden!
    Vivienne x

    • Thanks Vivienne. I don’t pick from my borders, only from my cutting beds where I grow in rows especially for cutting. I wasn’t sure if the vegetables would win over and I’d stop doing cut flowers but at the moment I have 4 raised beds of each so it’s still and even race!

  5. glad to hear you are feeling better , our bugs seem to have gone too thankfully and I’m so with you on the ” get me out of here ” Monday morning brought a small sigh of relief I can tell you … I think I need to get me a cutting patch too, probably need the garden first though 🙂

    • Ah yes, having a garden helps! Thanks on the ‘feeling better’ front, sadly F has a sore throat and I have started on it today so looks like new term bug has already struck – I refuse to be beaten!!

  6. I’ve been equally blabsent, not properly caught up yet either, but getting there! And glad to hear you are feeling better…sounds like you were proper poorly.

    I’ve booked in chicken pox for daughter No. 2 in just under 2 weeks time so will disappear again no doubt.

  7. Gorgeous jar of flowers, are they all from your garden?

    I’d like to get our house tidied and spring cleaned too, I’ve been feeling that way ever since having a second child, I do often wonder when I’ll manage to catch up!

    • Hi Anne, I found myself nodding my head at your second child comment, I think it’s storing all that stuff from first to second child and just wanting to clear it out. My boys are born 4 weeks apart in their respective birth years and are both tall so it has been worthwhile keeping all the clothes but I am happy to finally get rid of them as charlie grows out!

  8. My goodness, that bunch of flowers is absolutely gorgeous! Hope the return to normal continues, and I’m glad to hear that you are all feeling better now. Lovely fabric – I would love to peek at your stash. Where do you keep it all?

    Ah, spring cleaning…I’ve had a head-start recently preparing for viewings. I just wish it stayed nice and tidy for longer. If only dust took a holiday every now and then!

    • oh the thrill of keeping a clean house for sale! In our last 2 house sales, we shipped half our junk out to Big Yellow storage so we could make it look pretty, daft really but it worked. Thanks for the flower comment, I enjoy growing them, especially the spring bulbs as all the work was done planting them so it’s nice and easy!

  9. Good to have you back! I’m looking forward to Monday when work will be finished for the next wee while and I’ll have a chance to get back into the swing of normal life too.

    One of the things I miss most with our small garden is cutting flowers for the house. I still manage some but not as much as I’d like. Yours are brilliant, well worth 4 beds I’d say! Juliex

  10. I am so happy to hear that you all feel better – and oh there are others out there who cannot get their engines running after holidays! I actually am counting working days before summer holidays – it´s either 23 (!!!) or 45, both sound good to me 🙂

    I was going to e-mail you to ask about those adorable bunny clutches of yours but hey, I am sure there are many of us who would love to know if you are going to put them up for sale soon? I for sure would need one…

    Have a wonderful weekend and many SNOWY (blimey!) greetings from Finland!

    Yours,
    Mia

  11. Hope you have a lovely time when you visit home next week. That part of the dales id so gorgeous and only about an hour away from us too!
    Love
    Lyn
    xxx

  12. Hi Beth,
    The end of the Easter holidays feels like a holiday in itself doesn’t it? Great to see your latest creations …. those little trousers are delicious!!! I am prepping up lots of seaside themed books/journals for a May Day craft fayre on Sunday and my whole house is beginning to resemble a bookbinding factory. In fact I should probably be stitching boats onto covers, not browsing your blog!

    • Oh I can relate, I have finally moved all the growing seedlings out of the kitchen, only to replace them with sewing projects, my husband will be very pleased when he returns from the US, where he goes to escape/work!

Leave a Reply

