Holiday, Part Two…

We are coming to the end of our holiday and I am a little sad to say the least.  I have discovered that although I couldn’t have run away fast enough at 18, I now miss the countryside (and people) of the Dales quite badly, especially when it is looking so beautiful dressed in it’s late Summer colours.

We have fallen into a very relaxed routine, every day M does the early shift with the boys and later goes back to bed.  This leaves me a couple of hours to sew in peace (if you ignore the continuous demands of the boys, I try to anyway :)) and I sit at the kitchen table, with a great view of the heather moors of Burnsall, sewing little heather coloured capes; even the dark green linings are the perfect ‘Dales Moor’ green.

I have also been doodling new label designs (I hated the text in the one above, although it’s intended to be naive looking, it wasn’t quite right, but you get the idea).

We’ve been lucky with the weather and despite a few rainy moments, the sun has been shining.

There have been picnics by the river.  Above is up at Yockenthwaite which is very near Hubberholme and Beckermonds (where one side of my family used to farm) and which I blogged about on my last visit.  It’s where the river Wharfe creates pools amongst the rocks and is safe for little boys to play without worry of them being swept away.

I’ve also managed one proper long walk (12 miles!).  ‘Gran’ offered to have the boys for a day, M chose to drive to a bike shop (I think he’s visited every bike shop in Yorkshire on this trip) then went on a long ride and I packed up M’s camera bag (I hadn’t brought a backpack and M came up with the genius idea to take his camera bag, he laughed about my making room for a bag of crisps and some Bendicks Bittermints when space was a premium, but hey, a girl needs a treat when she stops for her lunch after such a long walk – right?!) and set of to Grimwith reservoir.

I would have liked some decent photos, but sadly my iPhone camera just isn’t up to it (as you can see, sorry about the quality).  I forget just how many wild flowers there are up here, I always remember dry stone walls and green but not the masses of beautiful flowers.

I’d planned to walk up to the reservoirs on Embsay Moor which are covered in heather, but as my brother pointed out; although it’s unlikely I could be mistaken as a grouse, it is shooting season and these Moors are closed to walkers.

As you can see, I still managed to get near the heather and also sneaked into Grimwith House, which stands derelict and if I’m honest rather sad looking by the water.  It’s where my Gran’s family came from, although they had already sold it on when the reservoir was extended in 1970 and the house abandoned.

And so, we have one day left, it’s a bit wet and windy and we plan to do our final family visits and then start packing up.  I really will be sad to leave, but I’m itching to sew and I know there are quite a few parcels waiting for me at home, including some Muji storage boxes so plenty to look forward to and lots of goodies to show you on our return 🙂

16 thoughts on “Holiday, Part Two…

  1. Glad you’re having a relaxing time. It looks lovely Beth!
    You’re little fox capes are indeed the colour of heather. 🙂
    Married to a cyclist too I see!! Enjoy your last day.
    Vivienne x

    • It’s been super relaxing. We set out most days with no ‘plan’ but I had a list of things I though the boys would enjoy and we let the weather and our moods decided.

      Cycling is M’s very new hobby but he’s totally sucked in already 🙂

      Bx

  2. My husband and bother have the same problem as your husband by the sounds of it……….they can’t pass a bike shop without going inside.
    Did you know that there is a name for middle aged men in lycra….MAMILS apparently!
    Those capes look gorgeous as too do your photos. Have a lovely last day. I can’t wait to hear about the goodies that await you at home! x

    • It’s been lovely Mary, my bad photos don’t really do justice as advertisement for the Dales, however we’ve picked the right day to leave as I can’t see much our of the window today, the rain and wind are hitting it so hard. Very much Wuthering Heights country today, I can practically hear Cathy calling.

      Bethx

  3. What an excellent holiday you sound to have had, so pleased that the weather has been alright, we have had an appalling few weeks, which has been such a shame for the boys. But the sun has come out again, so I’m hoping for a week of sunshine before school.
    Glad you got to do your walk. Capes are gorgeous, are they for the girl foxes as I’m keen to order one for xmas for #3?
    Enjoy opening your parcels when you get home!
    Jenny xx

    • I’m so glad I got my walk in, I was brought up walking around here and it’s a shame M hates to do it, but it was a perfect idea that we both got a day to do our own thing. I’m hoping for sun next week as well, for the same reason, I think coming back from hols to a soggy Kent might be hard for the boys. Fingers crossed for us both!

      Yes the capes are for lady foxes, I’ll email you when they are ready so you have first option in case you are still interested 🙂

      Bx

  4. Oh, it looks wonderful. What a beautiful place.

    I like walking Beth, but I’m not sure that I’d be quite up to a 12 miler!!!! Pleased to hear that you manage to pack plenty of ‘supplies’.

    Sorry that your holiday is over all too soon, but it sounds like you spent lots of quality time with your family.

    Really looking forward to seeing all your ‘goodies’.

    Jill x

    • 12 miles wasn’t all that bad, it took about 4 1/2 hours and I walked at a very leisurely pace with a long lunch stop, the hills are a bit hard on the legs though!

      I’m quite excited about seeing what’s come in the post, hopefully not lots of little red cards telling me to go pick them up at the post office 🙂 Bx

  5. Looks like a bit of a working holiday for you! I guess you enjoy it though and the capes do look lovely, as do the woven flowers. I ended up buying one of those flower looms (entirely your fault!) but have yet to try it out as I’m determined to finish this blooming blanket before I dabble in other things.

    Glad you enjoyed your holiday, it’s always nice to get back to your own house though. Maybe you could win the lottery and get it all transferred to Yorkshire. Or maybe not, a friend used to always refer to the lottery as a tax on the stupid, I guess he’s right in a way, or perhaps it’s just a tax on the hopeful. I’ve never bought a ticket myself, probably just too frugal!

  6. Oh, it was just sewing in one seam on the capes and then putting the buttons on, so quite gentle sewing but I am very impatient to start my day once up, so I brought things I could just sit at the table and do in the morning whilst M slept, otherwise I would
    just itch to wake him up and get on!

    We very rarely buy lottery tickets, I think M sometimes does and I did occasionally when living in London. My Mum buys them every week, and often the same numbers, I could NEVER do that, what if they came up and you forgot your ticket!!! Nope, it’s not for me. Bx

  7. I’m so pleased it sounds as if you have had a wonderful holiday. Your day to yourself walking must have been fantastic.
    John has the same addiction to cycling – mostly mountain biking with a few injuries thrown in – and really could spend hours in a bike shop or with a magazine looking at all the shiny bits and pieces.
    The river that the boys could paddle around in safely looks brilliant – its so much fun to be allowed the freedom to plouter around.
    Hope all is well at home and you are settling back in.
    Juliex

  8. I am impressed with the photos from your iPhone. That last one is lovely. I think as we grow older we appreciate the countryside more, when you are young you need a busy social life. At least you can visit.
    love
    Lyn
    xxx
    ps thank you for the comment on my blog. Its interesting to see which photo people are choosing.
    x

  9. Pingback: The Linen Cat Blog

Leave a Reply

