Neat and tidy, tidy and neat…

I am being good at the moment and working through my many open projects, it feels nice to gradually empty all those plastic boxes stacked with half finished bits and bobs, turning this

into this

Oh how I love these neat little birds all lined up and looking tidy, this is only a third of the ones completed so far, the glass bead eyes take some time to sew but it’s quite therapeutic just sitting there hand sewing whilst the wind howls outside (the wind!!? what’s with the wind? Β I keep expecting to be woken by Munchkins giggling, sadly not in my case, it’s usually the boys yelling).

I’m even getting some birds finished for next Christmas, these ones have been sitting in a box for over a year, I just never got around to stitching them together.

The bright colours have also been a pleasure to work with, I love little bits of felt and ribbon, although I fear the pink birds will be Β nightmare to photograph properly, the bright pink always looks so muddy. Β It did spur me to finally order something I’ve been after for a while, this gorgeous crochet forever flower garland by Emma Lamb

Emma was great to buy from, she took time to help me select my colours, sending images so I could make sure I was happy with my choice.

In fact the above photos belong to Emma, I haven’t put my new garland up yet, I’m determined to paint our fire surround white and then hang it as a reward.

Even the packaging was a delight.

So for the rest of today, I shall be sewing seed bead eyes and making a second batch of marmalade, oh happy days πŸ™‚

30 thoughts on “Neat and tidy, tidy and neat…

  1. The garland is very cute, I love the blue birds too. The wind is insane, I don’t think I slept well last night due to things shaking and rattling along the road!

    • Hi Abi, I may have a crochet crush coming on, I fear my husband may not feel the same but if I learn to crochet myself he can’t say no, at least that’s my cunning plan πŸ˜‰

  2. I love your birds all lined up! The colors are spectacular…I hope your weather is a bit better today. We expect more snow…ugh. The garland is so sweet. I would love to learn to crochet like that. And, frankly, I don’t know how you even tore into that package…lovely. Have a good weekend!

    • Hi Mary, I did just look at the lovely package for a while, I’m one of those people who like to take my time opening things as I enjoy the anticipation πŸ™‚ Glad you like the lines of birds, it makes me smile to see them all together like that. Bethx

    • Hi Amanda, thanks for taking the time to drop by and comment, really glad you’re enjoying reading my blogs, I’m a bit slow on my gardening one but as the weather warms it gets more exciting (I hope!) πŸ™‚

    • I get huge satisfaction out of the ‘finished’ shots and sadly, it’s my nature to make each stage into neat little piles, partly I think to counteract the mayhem that surrounds me, our house is mostly strewn with boys toys – lol! Wish I could put the same standards into cleaning, ho-hum πŸ™‚

  3. That garland is lovely. And the pink looks great on this blog so I think you’ll be ok! The colours are great actually – your posts are always a burst of colour!
    x x x
    Catherine

    • Glad you think the pink looks OK, I will wait for some good natural light for the shop photos then run outside for a quick photo shoot! Hopefully the magenta wont look too dingy but I know from past experience it’s difficult shot – should read the instructions for my (other half’s) camera, that might help πŸ˜‰

  4. Lovely lines of finished birds! I have said this earlier but I so admire your ability to make similar (and perfect, too!) items one after another. Lovely pictures!

    Stay warm and cozy, Beth!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Hi Mia, I quite enjoy working that way and have to as I host my own on-line shop, it takes so long to photograph and list an item I generally need to make more than one. I do envy your lovely one-offs though, it must be a very enjoyable way to work. Hope it’s warming up a bit for you, Bethx

  5. I can imagine how much you love your Emma Lamb garland. She had an exhibition at the gallery at the end of our street, probably this time last year, and I fell in love with her work. I really coveted one of her potholders but managed to restrain myself. I regularly ‘check’ her etsy shop just to look at what’s there and plan…maybe one day!

    • I would have bought everything, if the pennies allowed. Bet her work looked lovely all exhibited together, lucky I didn’t see it, I’d be broke. Bx

    • I’ll admit that the ‘group bird’ shot is one of my favourites, they are still sitting in a neat pile together so I can it enjoy it a bit longer before they get mounted on cards for sale. Bx

  6. Oh how lovely, I’ve had my eye on one of those crocheted garlands but wanted to get the girls bedroom decorated first.

    I like the way the birds are all lined up and ready for action, have you thought about doing a real patriotic one – all red, white and blue? There seems so much British/London themed stuff around at the mo it just got me thinking, it must be the build up to the big wedding.
    c x

    • That’s a blinding idea (r, w & b birds) may well have a play there and sew how they look, thanks πŸ™‚ and I so recommend the garland, it’s beautifully made and a great service from emma. Bx

  7. Hello Beth
    Long time no speak! Thank you for your lovely comment on my blog, it means alot. I love your garland, I too am the proud owner of one – Emma’s work is fab!
    Love to you xx

    • It has been a while, nice to have you back blogging again, you’ve been missed. Saw you in Oh Comely, very well deserved. Bx

Leave a Reply

