Cashmere Bears and awards…

I’m still flitting from project to project but I knuckled down last week and completed some of the overdue re-stocking, starting with a new batch of cashmere bears.

I love these and I always seem to be down to my last one

horror of horrors (insert Psycho style scream here), I have now cut into my last batch of this gorgeous wool/cashmere mix fabric.  I so regret not buying every last meter, but there’s enough to make quite a few bears yet and then I’ll have to see if I can source something similar.

I’d planned to make another colour way but have got sidetracked half way through, so for now the original, with his woodland print belly patch can be found here and here.

I also mentioned a while back that I’ve had a couple of awards and like a naughty blogger, realise I haven’t said thank you yet, tut tut.

Mia was very kind to pass along the

award, which is for crafty-blogs which have less than 300 readers, to encourage more and more people to visit you and see your handmades.  Such a lovely idea and coming from one of my favourite blog friends a double pleasure, thank you Mia.

In case you haven’t read Mia’s lovely blog you can find it here and her shop of felted, tweedie, birdie goodness is here.

I was also passed along the ‘Stylish Blogger Award’ from Colette , many thanks Colette (again, a lovely blog so do pop over for a visit and Colette has a great Etsy, to be found here, I might be slightly in love with the cherry silk and lace Ella bag).  I should be listing seven interesting things about myself before passing along, but as I’ve been very lucky to have this challenge before, I’m having a bit of a block so I need to think for a while (let’s face it, obviously I’m just very dull ;)).

On a slightly random note, we have just returned from Bluewater where I was yet again fascinated by this

the All Saints shop with it’s (at least) 200 antique sewing machines in the window.  Sorry for the hastily taken iphoto image but I was being dragged along by small boys at the time

I especially like this one.  I think it’s kind of a cool display, but at the same time I feel sad for all those unused/unloved machines, I want to take them home and admire them individually.

As my own version, which came from my Gran and was the first machine I learnt to sew on is frequently moaned about for taking up space, goodness knows what I’d do with another 200 (besides, I’m not sure ram-raiding the All Saints store for it’s window display would go down very well).

A little Sunday randomness there, now back to watching the Scooby Doo Movie with the boys 🙂

12 thoughts on “Cashmere Bears and awards…

  1. Hi Beth,
    Every time I pass an All saints shop I have the same thought as you. It’s a crime to have all those lovely old machines sitting idle in their windows. I wish I could just choose one to bring home with me, well maybe two or three or……………..x

  2. Hee hee – as I type this, Violet is sitting with her daddy watching, yet another, Scooby Doo Movie (Zombie Island I think!).
    Aren’t those sewing machines fab? I love all the patterning – they’re so pretty. I can see why you’d want to give them space in your own home :0)
    Your cashmere bears look lovely – I’m very tempted to buy one. You’re a very naughty Linen Cat for making such beautiful things :0)
    Jill x

  3. oh the bears look so soft! I love the old machines and think I have seen the same display in a shop in Manchester somewhere!
    love
    Lyn
    xxx
    ps My bunnie purse was used yesterday!

  4. I ALWAYS think that when I pass the All Saints in Brighton – how did they find so many unwanted machines?! I aspire to take one home with me too (also have nowhere to put one).

    The cashmere bears look lovely!

  5. Oh I love those sewing machines – where on earth did they get so many? The mind boggles.
    I just read your previous 7 things – love the blond crop, so chic!
    Super cute teddies too.

  6. I have an old machine in my attic, it belonged to my aunt!
    Unfortunately she got it converted to electric which she thought was a great idea and from a practical point of view for her it was. However looking at it now I so wish she hadn’t. The man who converted it for her very conveniently held on to the table which it sat in( he obviously saw her coming)! So another sad sewing machine story I’m afraid!
    Vivienne x

  7. Congratulations on the awards Beth! I love the bears. Their fabric tummies are too cute. I have an old sewing machine – still in it’s “table” that only needs to have the cable fixed and it will sew. My Grandma-in-law will even help me if I would just get around to getting the new leather cable.

  8. Your bears look so lovely and cuddly, it feels good to get jobs finished, doesn’t it!!
    Well done on your awards, I too have been passed two and have yet to do anything about them, tut tut!!
    Love the old machines, what a collection
    Hope you had a good weekend.
    Jenny x

  9. Happy Valentine’s Day dear Beth!

    You deserve both awards so much, your blog&work are endless inspiration! Like those bears, lovely, lovely…
    And I wish you’ll find beautiful new fabric for more bears to come.

    Many happy greetings from freezing (-29C!!!) Finland!

    Yours,
    Mia

  10. Those bears are very sweet!
    I saw a window display in Regent street full of sewing machines too! Probably the same chain, but I was too busy looking at the sewing machines to notice the clothes..!
    x x x
    Catherine

  11. I was in downtown Seattle recently and stumbled upon this store. I insisted on dragging my husband along with me as I just HAD to see all the machines and other vintage sewing, spinning, hardware, they used as displays. Eye candy indeed ! I too have wondered where or where did they find all these machines as it sounds like they have many many shops !

    • Blimey, when you consider they are Worldwide (which I hadn’t realised) that really is a lot of machines! Quite amazing to look at though 🙂

Leave a Reply

