Happy Easter…

I forgot the below photo on my recent Tweed Purse post.  For those whose who’ve followed the purses from the beginning, you know well that they are blatantly based on the good old Lindt bunny which is gracing the selves of every supermarket and corner shop in the UK at the moment.  It’s the only product I make that isn’t really my own design in that it was always intended as a tweed version of the very delicious chocolate original, but I like to think it has a Linen Cat twist and so deserves a place in my shop.  Just thought I’d mention it in case you were wondering why they looked so familiar.

I hope everyone is off to a good start to the Easter Holidays?  We’ve been off for nearly 2 weeks now so the boys are going a little stir crazy but the beautiful weather is certainly helping, I can’t imagine what they’d be like stuck indoors.  We’ve been out and about on walks, picnics in the park and a trip to Camber Sands and although it’s been lovely I am suddenly really homesick for the Yorkshire Dales.  It’s just so busy here in Kent, I really miss being able to set off for a walk where you can get away from everything and find a nice peaceful spot for a picnic (around us the land is mainly agricultural or horse pastures so you can’t just potter off as you can at home) and I really, really miss being able to swim in the river.  I am sure these things are possible in Kent in the right places, I guess I was just spoilt as a child having it all on the doorstep.

As I’m being all nostalgic for my childhood and I was asked about the images to the left of my notice board recently I thought I’d chat about them; they are in fact some of the cards from the Happy Families set, illustrated by Racey Helps.  We used to stay with my Gran quite often as children (for those who read here a lot, you’ll already know that my Gran was a great influence and encourager of my sewing and drawing) and a highlight was sitting in her bed in the mornings reading stories, singing songs and playing games.  We used to read all sorts but the main books that fix in my mind are the many with animals dressed in clothing and living in their imaginary worlds.  I have very fond memories of Richard Scarry books and also of Racey Helps and recently started collecting old copies of both.

The Racey Helps appear to be out of print, which is really sad as my boys love the stories

and I adore the images, especially the flower and nature details.

I’m sure it has some influence on the fact I like to create dressed animals amongst my products.  You can find out all about Racey Helps in so many places, I wont chatter on, I just wanted to share my current sideline obsession (well, one of them anyhow) and as they have such a Spring feel it seemed like a good time to post a few photos.

Today, we are getting ready for Easter, the boys have been helping me decorate and tidy, F did the above drawings and I promised him I’d photograph them for my blog, so here you go, a bunny, a lamb and a butterfly….apparently 🙂

Lastly, Create are running an Easter Egg Hunt on the 27th April where you can win an iPad2, it’s a twitter competition and promises to be loads fo fun so do join in if you can and pop over to the link to watch their cute promo videos (my boys love the giant egg, I think they assume it really is made out of chocolate – bless!).

Happy Easter everyone!

10 thoughts on “Happy Easter…

  1. The Racy Helps illustrations are beautiful but so are your son’s. That rabbit is brilliant, a little artist in the making. 🙂
    Have a wonderful Easter weekend Beth!
    Vivienne x

    • I was impressed by F’s drawing as not that long ago he struggled to hold a pencil (he has weak wrists and it’s a credit to his school and ‘little fingers’ that he’s come along so well) so to get this detail is great. And it’s not a monster or alien – hurrah!

      Bx

  2. Thank you so much for the Racey Helps info, I’m just about positive I had those Happy Families cards now. I’ll have to do some serious searching to see if I can find anything by him . Looks like you have your own little artist in the making.. Happy Easter x

    • I bet you did, we used to play with them and the R H books are quite old (I think the ones we read were actually my Dad’s as quite a few of my Gran’s books were). When I opened the pack of cards, memories of all the images came flooding back, they are so distinctive. Bx

  3. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!! I wracked my brains at Christmas over vague childhood memories of a particular book that I thought would be nice for my 3 year old daughter. However, both title and author eluded me!

    The Racey Helps illustrations shown here looked very familiar and following a couple of quick searches I’m very excited that ‘Diggy Takes His Pick’ has been ordered and will be with me shortly 🙂

    I must say that I think your son’s drawings are wonderful, especially the bunny! And it goes without saying that your bunny purse is just divine.

    Happy Easter!

    (Apologies if this is duplicated. Half of my post disappeared, I know not where, so I’ve retyped)

    • Oh I’m glad you’re as excited as I was re-discovering the RH books, I felt exactly the same when I first saw the covers. In fact, ‘Diggy Takes His Pick’ was also the most familiar to me (there’s a particular picture in it of Mr Cunningleigh-Sligh the Fox in woodland that I remembered very well), you’ll find yourself buying them all once the first one arrives! 🙂

  4. Happy Easter, Beth!

    Those illustrations were not familiar to me but oh so sweet! But F’s bunny – that is one perfect creation!

    Have a wonderful and sunny Easter weekend!

    Yours,
    Mia

  5. Oh my goodness, I used to read Racey Helps books at my Granny’s house. In fact I have a couple of them, and only today rescued them from being jumped on on Oscar’s bed! (time to move the vintage books away from the bed shelf now I think!)

    Have a happy Easter

    Emma x

  6. What a lovely cheerful post, I love to see what influences people so thank you for sharing. Thank you also for popping by my blog and leaving ALL those lovely comments! It is hard not to smile when we are blessed with such beautiful weather. Have a lovely, lovely Easter Beth.
    love
    Lyn
    xxx

  7. Pingback: I’m still here..and summer collection… « The Linen Cat Blog

Leave a Reply

