Teachers Gifts 2011…

It would appear that there are many of us on that fast train right now, for me it’s slowing down a little and I hope it’s the same for you, thanks for all your lovely comments.

I did a little *ahem* fabric shopping a while ago, it was love at first sight so I had to buy

Spira Haga in Sand by Bitte Stenström

Körsbärsträdgården in Mustard by Marianne Westman

and in a little more detail.

I also bought the Haga fabric in the Nougat and they all came from my new favourite online shop Hus and Hem.

Now, they are not cheap by any means but the quality shines through and I have a special plan for the beautiful bird fabric given some extra hours in the day.  As for the Haga, I had recently earmarked this tutorial which comes from the book 1, 2, 3 Sew by Ellen Luckett Baker (the tutorial being released by the book publishers), to make a Market Tote bag.  The fabric was perfect and even though it meant cutting into my lovely new stash it had to be done.  I striped it with some hand dyed linen in red and a rustic linen fabric for the bottom and lining of the bags and I’m very pleased with the results.

I needed to make two bags altogether, one for C’s Keyworker (she was also F’s when he was at pre-school) and one for F’s teacher.  I wouldn’t normally make something so major as teachers gifts but both have been great this year and really deserved something a little extra.

Although the bags look the same in these photos they are quite different in ‘real life’.  I have used both of my Haga fabrics and the red stripes are not the same (one is a pink red, the other more of a brown red).  The bags were super easy to make, the only thing I have changed on the pattern is making the arm hole slightly deeper as on the first bag I found it difficult to get it over my shoulder.

The bit that took forever was making labels to put inside.

These were printed on fabric transfer paper (which I HATED using, my printer didn’t like the make I chose at all) and then sewn inside.

For the teaching assistants I made blackcurrant jam with the boys, using berries from our garden and packaged them with some little birds made in matching colours.

Phew, all done 🙂  Just need to get F to write the cards now!!

26 thoughts on “Teachers Gifts 2011…

    • Thanks so much for dropping by and commenting. Love your shop, so much so have I just added it as a link 🙂

  1. Beth, these bags are great – F & C’s teachers will be thrilled to bits with them, and I’m certain they’ll get plenty of use.
    The fabric from Hus & Hem is really beautiful (and what a lovely message they’ve left for you).
    I’ve bookmarked that tutorial – I’ll probably be making my own ‘teacher’s gifts’ this time next year. (I’d better go and make friends with my sewing machine again and start honing my sewing skills !).
    Jill x

    • I bookmark ideas over the year as I find interesting tutorials, not just for teachers gifts but also for presents, I’m quite shy about giving my own designs and home made things but I am slowly getting over this, I always worry people may think it’s a cop out. Bethx

    • Beautiful isn’t it? and the quality really shows, it’s so perfectly printed and washes amazingly well. I want a bag for myself now 🙂

  2. Wonderful gifts again Beth!! The label is very clever and makes the bag so personal, it’s lovely. I bet the teachers are in the staff room now arguing over who is going to teach your boys next year. 😉
    Vivienne x

    • Oddly we have a split class system for year 1 which means the youngest 8 kids spend half their day in with the Reception kids, this mean that with C starting next year I’ll have made presents for the same set of teachers/assistants for 3 years running! Luckily the split goes this year (we have extra funding for a full 30 intake – hurrah!) or as C is also a young one it would have ended up with 4 years of the same teacher. Make sense? Probably more info than you need 😉 Bethx

    • Thanks 🙂 I love the jam, I’m the only one who eats it so I get other half of the batch all to myself! Bethx

  3. What charming gifts you give Beth, lucky ladies! I cannot believe a whole year has gone by, I remember reading your post last year re teacher’s gifts! They will be totally delighted. Enjoy your weekend,
    Jane x

    • I know, where did the time go? And with C starting in September I have a feeling time will flay even quicker. It’s kind fo sad and exciting at the same time, I will miss him but I’m looking forward to some time to myself. Bethx

    • I really loved making the matching birds, one of the teaching assistants came over to say thanks on the last day picnic we have and he was most interested in the bird (I think F had mentioned that I sew them myself and have a shop). Bethx

    • If it wasn’t for the 5 attempts are getting the picture to transfer, I’d have loved doing the labels too 😉 Actually it wasn’t that bad and it’s given me some ideas for Christmas presents. Bethx

  4. Lucky teachers – can you send the to Winchester when they reach sixth for please! We don’t get pressies from Mums – shame! The bags are absolutely brilliant and the jam & birdies are super gifts too. Clever you!

    • You don’t get presents!! Mind you, the huge debate re gift giving for teachers has been going on around me for weeks. My view is if you feel like you might like to, great, but it should not be a chore or something you feel you have to do. We (or should that really be ‘I’) had fun making these 🙂 Thanks for dropping by and commenting.

    • I got quite a bit of stick this year for even doing teachers gifts, it’s such a big debate here in the UK and I totally understand why many people don’t give anything but it’s such a lovely small school and the teachers work so well with Felix I just wanted to say ‘thanks’. As you can imagine, there may be many more of those bags made for Christmas gifts this year with little photos and messages inside for the recipients! Bethx

  5. Pingback: Blackcurrant Birds… « The Linen Cat Blog

  6. Pingback: Bags, bags, bags… « The Linen Cat Blog

  7. Pingback: Teachers Gifts 2013… | The Linen Cat Blog

Leave a Reply

