Bright Little Waistcoats…

I have lots of open projects at the moment and despite my attempts to finish one before starting on another it’s not really working out that way.  There are lots of piles of little clothes without bodies and many naked woodland animals needing clothing.  I was also given a stark reminder of what’s to come when we had a few days of rain last week (hurrah!) and it became so dark I struggled to see what I was sewing, even with all the studio lights on so it really is important that I get all my shop photographs taken in the next few weeks.

My mission, then, is to finish and photograph at least one full sample of each planned item and better still, complete all my early Autumn work ready for listing in September.

I started with some jolly coloured waistcoats.  I am definitely moving into stronger colours with plums and deep reds as I eagerly await colder weather, but I couldn’t resist a last splash of late summer brightness, especially after making a recent waistcoat for the ‘Gone Fishing‘ squirrel (yes, he is a squirrel and not a fox although he does look very fox-like, especially with the original pointy ears in the sample version, which I have changed for the final design in an attempt to make him more squirrel-like).

Each waistcoat is stitched from 7 pieces and each seam is stitched twice and overlocked, it really is important to me that anything I made lasts, especially if there’s a chance it’s going to be played with by little hands and so this is a standard for the softies I make and their clothing.

I raided my hand dyed linen stash for the outsides and already knew I wanted to use some Liberty Tana Lawn in Mirabelle for the lining, it’s a bit light weight for lining, especially paired with the linen so I backed it with some Vilene Supersoft iron-on interfacing, which I buy in bulk as I use it often.  Oh I love this print, which is why it pops up so often in my work, it’s the perfect mix of retro, nature and block colours which works well with my designs.

I splashed out on real leather buttons as I’ve been desperate to use them for a while.  I have quite a few vintage ones but I’ve stopped using these generally, especially from my Gran’s glass jar as I’d rather save them for personal projects and special items, or even just keep them so I can tip them out to admire.

Finally, the jolly little jackets required a little something else so out came my Hana Flower Loom.  I’d forgotten how much I enjoy weaving these, it’s quite therapeutic just sitting working on them.  I had quite a few ‘I’m very tired, please stop now boys’ moments over the last week and so forced the boys to watch Narnia movies giving me an excuse to just sit on the sofa weaving.  It was fun snuggling up together and having a calm moment (my boys, like most boys are mostly in loud crash bang mode) whilst it rained outside.

Now all I have to do is make all the little bodies to go with the clothing!

11 thoughts on “Bright Little Waistcoats…

    • Yep, they bang, then they crash, then they shout then they shout some more. I bet even if I’d have had a girl in the mix she’d still have been a bang crash girl 😉 Bethx

  1. The little waistcoats are so cute and so beautifully made as always! I fully understand wanting to keep your buttons to tip out and look at from time to time!!
    Vivienne x

    • They are so lovely, lots of Victorian glass and buttons from the 50’s so such a shame to just use them up. Definitely much nicer to admire them 🙂 Bethx

  2. Such beautiful work Beth amongst the crash and bang! I love the woven flowers, they much take you ages to weave. enjoy some extra work time once your boys get back to school, but I am sure you will really miss them!
    Jane x

    • Hi Jane, the flowers do take a while but I love the results, of course I could just get my act together and learn to crochet (I have made a start) which would be a lot quicker and maybe nicer?

      Oh I am also ready for some proper ‘me’ time but you are right, I will also miss the boys, especially C. I think it will be odd not having little ones around
      for the first time in so many years. Odd and quite liberating. Bx

  3. Truly gorgeous! I know what you mean about buttons, it is amazing how a button can hold so many memories 🙂 Re photographing your items, you can buy day lights I think which may help with photographing items in the winter. Or if you used a slower shutter speed and a tripod (or a load of books piled up) you could get the right light on darker days.

    • Thanks 🙂 Yes, I love my Gran’s and Mum’s button tins and it seems a waste to use them up, I’d rather just admire the collection. Oh I have all the camera gear *she says with a slight eye roll* largely due to my husband, who owns loads and buys bits for me occasionally, including a light box, light reflector, tripod etc. In fact given my set-up, I should really take much better product photographs than I do 😉 Bethx

  4. Your detailing just amazes me – especially on such small pieces. The flower blooms are adorable! I can’t wait to see some of the woodland animals finished. I just inherited my husband’s Grandmother’s button collection. I’m quite excited about being the recipient of them. I guess it is a good thing I am the only grand-daughter, by birth or marriage that sews.

Leave a Reply

