The Best Laid Plans…

As predicted, the bliss of the first few weeks of the boys being back at school and the list of work I had hoped to achieve hasn’t exactly gone to plan.  It’s not been a total disaster by any means, I have managed to add some much-needed exercise into my daily routine; I leave the car at school and walk back, then walk the return to pick up C at lunchtime as it’s too far for the boys to manage each day but sometimes I persuade them to walk with me.  It’s great to see signs of Autumn arriving all around us, the boys are generally quite interested in nature so we have fun picking up bits and pieces to add to our little ‘nature’ window ledge at home.

I made these felt acorns last Winter and figured I’d try and finish them off whilst I’m in the Autumnal mood, it’s taken me a year to make some leaves.  They were completely inspired by the Fox noses I was stitching back then, I liked the idea of using chain stitch to make the acorn cases, to be honest this takes quite a while so they may never develop any further than the few I’ve stitched for myself to hang on cupboard doors but it’s a good starting point, I think some gold is needed in there to sparkle them up a bit, maybe in the hanging ribbon?

As always there’s been a little bit of on-line retail therapy.  I needed to order some fabric from Liberty’s and sneaked in these new tins for stashing labels and pins in, they are by Froy & Dind and I’d happily buy the entire range should I find time to rob a bank or win the lottery (neither being very likely).

I also sneaked in this Lolita Cup in cream and blue, it’s for our bathroom once I find time to paint it.  Hey, it’s only been waiting for about 4 years, I’m sure I’ll get around to it some time soon.

Last Friday I was treated to a very special last minute BBC Proms night on Friday (courtesy of my Sister) which also included an overnight stay in the very plush Kensington Hotel (also courtesy of my Sister – she treats me well and I am most grateful!).  I don’t get away all that often and it was most exciting to sit in a posh bar drinking cocktails and munching snacks with my glad rags on, the rather opulent seating and dining area is very relaxed and I noticed they offer Afternoon Tea.  The website states they are also quite child friendly with a babysitting service and extra beds available in the rooms; the ‘Dress Code’ bit made me laugh, it says on the Mr & Mrs website ‘Comfortable, low-level glamour’.  The Prom was excellent and we followed up the next day with some shopping at Anthropologie, Fortnum & Mason with a swift Liberty’s Cafe stop before I had to dash back to M and the boys.  It reminded me how much I enjoy mooching around London, when we first moved out I used to pop back once a week to meet friends for lunch and get my city fix, but these days it’s a very rare opportunity.

I mostly window shopped but did by a few bits from Anthropologie.  I had such a nice time in the store admiring the displays and products but I was disappointed with the finishing quality of the clothing.  Don’t get me wrong, the designs were great and there was plenty that I lusted after (and I did buy a gold top with some lovely detailing on the neckline), but for the price I didn’t feel the detail was up to scratch, there were some really shoddy buttonholes and lots of loose threads.  Still, it’s up there on my ‘must visit’ list when I do make it into the big smoke and I would happily wear pretty much everything they sell if money allowed, shoddy buttonholes or not.

Finally, as this post seems to be all about pretty things with a nature theme, I bought a new brooch from Joanna Rutter a short while ago, I’m lusting after the silver necklace version but for now this will be lovely pinned to my everyday corduroy jacket.

And now, joy of joys I need to walk back again to school as the car has broken down (again, it did the same last week).  Although I do enjoy walking, even in bad weather spending four and a half hours of my day going back and forth does take the shine of it!  Let’s hope we get the car back for tomorrow 🙂

12 thoughts on “The Best Laid Plans…

  1. What a lovely get – away and great sister! I think the acorns are adorable. I have projects that are like that as well – way more time required then I have to give. 4 1/2 hours walk?? Wow – that is a lot of time!! I hope your car is fixed very soon.

  2. Hooray for sisters and the precious time with them! I had a change to do that recently too and it was a bliss. You have made some pretty purchases, Beth, and oh the tins…I love tins in general and those…I must check them out!

    Wishing you happy weekend soon (it’s Friday again tomorrow!) and many sunny moments!

    yours,
    Mia

  3. Lots of lovely things. I’m so impressed by your nature collection – such beautiful feathers and not one but two birds nests, we’ve yet to find any. I like you lolita cup and it was nice to hear of your trip to London, it sounds very glamorous to those of us so far away. Sometimes I wish I had a sister (I have 3 brothers) when I hear of ones as nice as yours sounds!

  4. Your acorns are ever so pretty! I think it’s great to get children involved with nature, very important that they appreciate what is around them.
    Lots of lovely purchases too, especially the tins and cups. 🙂
    Vivienne x

  5. Everything very nice as always. I am glad that I am not the only one who things the same about Anthropologie, beautiful things, badly finish for the price they are asking for.
    Lx

  6. Hi Beth, I am still a kid at heart and still pick up the new conkers and acorns each year, I’m glad to see your family do too. My daughter even sent me a text this year to say she found her 1st conker on her way to work (she’s only 25!!)Your trip to London sounded great, what a generous sister you have. I loved your acorns you made too. I hope the car is fixed soon as your walks do sound very long even for me who is an avid walker!As for the tins…I’m lusting over them…one can never have enough tins!
    Enjoy the early autumn,
    Jane x

  7. I do hope the car is behaving itself now – that sounds like a bit more walking than you could do with. Your trip to London must have been lovely- sisters sound like fun (brothers are pretty good too but I don’t think I’d ever take mine to London!).
    Interesting to hear what you say about Anthropologie – I’ve looked at their stuff online and liked it but its always best to see things in the flesh too. Juliex

  8. Love your acorns, it must feel good to get them finished.
    Your break with your sister sounds amazing it’s nice to be spoilt once in a while
    Hope you now have your car back on the road,
    Jenny x

  9. Pingback: Acorns… « The Linen Cat Blog

Leave a Reply

