New Rose Brooches…

I feel like I am permanently sewing at the moment.  Unlike many hard working makers out there, who I know work in the evenings, especially those with other day jobs;  I tend to stop around the boys bedtime and spend the rest of the evening attached to my laptop instead of a sewing machine.  In the last few weeks though, I have been trying to get on top of all the hand sewing projects, there have been lots of flowers to weave on the Hana-Ami Loom and many others to make from felt and beads so little pots appear around the house that can easily be picked up and put down.

Mostly I have mostly been working in replenishing flower brooch stock and adding a red version of the rose brooch for Winter.  I had always planned to do this but there is such a lot of work in each one that it’s taken me a while, I must admit that I do rather like the backs, it’s just one of those bits I feel I’ve ‘got right’ if that makes sense.  Does anyone read Mr Men to their kids?  I always have ‘Tidy and neat, neat and tidy’ going through my head when I finish a brooch back (from Mr Messy).

Because I was a good girl and made enough to replenish my own shop, AND list on Folksy, AND send some to Armagh (see last post) I had intended to take a shot of them all together, a mass of flower brooches simply so I could feel chuffed with myself for all the hard work, because it was hard work in a nice kind of way.  But I forgot.  Doh.

Instead I got packaging happy putting them onto their little cards and sealing them up so they stay dust and lint free, then stacking them in neat rows in boxes.  I fear when I read this back to myself I will sound a bit obsessed and obsessive, I am neither the mess of my house proves this.  Ok, I am just a little bit but only with things I really enjoy and that doesn’t stretch to housework.

Once the red roses were completed, I couldn’t resist making a few versions in mixed pinks, using the burgundy and dusty pink colours that I made for my new shop banner and cards, I only made 5 and have kept one for myself as these are my kind of colours.

As a little treat I bought myself a wooden tray to work on when I am hand sewing so I can sit with it on my knee whilst I’m watching the telly, I’ll spend less time hunting for needles down the side of the sofa that way!

The brooches can be found in my shop (they now have their own section) along with replenishments of the buttercup version and pink roses and some are also listed on Folksy.  Next I will be starting a mini acorn making factory on my wooden tray which I think I am really going to enjoy 🙂

9 thoughts on “New Rose Brooches…

  1. They are lovely Beth,such a pretty little garden on your new tray!
    When I think of you Beth I always think of everything being so neat and tidy. 🙂
    Vivienne x

  2. Well done Beth, lovely organised work there…love these brooches.The tweed leaves work so well with the felt. I too have trays to work at.. it makes it easier to pick up in a spare moment. I like the sound of the acorn factory, I will be very interested to see what you make.
    Jane x

    • Thanks so much Jenny – I’ll admit I like both the red and the mixed pink, but the one I kept for myself was mixed pink as it goes better with my general clothing (I wear a lot of berry colours and greens). I’m popping it in the post on school run so it should be with you tomorrow! Bethx

  3. Your work is always so beautiful, Beth, but those brooch-backs are JUST right as you said, every stitch is perfect. I wish I had your patience (and skills, too!) to make that much of beautiful hand stitching… sigh.

    Pretty brooches are perfect for autumn/winter!

    Happy week!

    Yours,
    Mia

  4. I think your new tray is fabby and the pink brooches are so pretty. Is your header new too? I really like it.
    I also popped over to folksy out of curiosity and spotted the new bunny and squirrel – I love their little waistcoats, very sophisticated! Juliex

    • Hi Julie, well spotted, it is indeed a new header (hastily done, really needs some more work) and after your comment I finally got around to blogging the new bunnies! Honestly, I am amazed how long it takes me to get around to things sometimes. Bethx

Leave a Reply

