Boy Bunnies and Squirrels…

The eagle eyed amongst you spotted some new additions to my animal softies when you were looking at the updated Folksy store and I feel like a post on them has been long overdue.

Earlier this year…a lot earlier, this one has taken me a while…I decided to re-design my Wool Bunnies, although I love them I think they might be a bit too ‘odd’ looking for some customers and I decided going forward to only make girl versions as people tend to buy linen mice as gifts for boys and not the bunnies.  I had a couple of the original pattern bodies cut but not sewn up so I used them as a startling point to re-design the head, it’s simply the original but with ears added on separately, in this case using the legs as ears (I know, poor bunny I did feel bad cutting it up).  I then ‘jointed’ the arms and legs, this adds a lot of time and fabric onto the making of each one but I’ve decided in this case it’s worth it.

At the same time I started working on a squirrel in tweed, using the same base pattern, above is my first sample and a doh! moment to show that I often make mistakes, I did laugh a lot when I realised what I’d done.  I’ve been planning squirrels since last year, just one of many animals in my head trying to get out.

I then made some waistcoats for the new squirrels, this is again back in the summer holidays, I had envisioned red but the bright green worked better with the tweed fabric, so I made some of both with the plan to make up some plain twill squirrels as well as the tweed version at a later date.

In the end the bunny bodies were made out of the same cashmere wool mix that I use for my bears, I have limited amounts but the texture is so unbelievably soft that I couldn’t resist and I’ve decided to save all the remaining cream for these wool bunnies and worry about what to use when it runs out some other time. I then found myself with lots of flat bodies and finished clothing but not necessarily ones that match.  The same story runs pretty much across the board, I also have loads of fox bodies with no clothing and clothing with no matching body.

So I was now beginning to panic slightly at the sheer amount of work needed to get done, and with the life getting in the way I had to cut back the list, the result?  Wool Bunny boys wearing red waistcoats (you know, the squirrel ones, are you still with me?).  I’m so glad I found this solution as they are so amazingly cute and it works really well, the jackets are  a little big (I made the squirrel body slightly wider so I could fit the tail in when turning them through) but it’s not a problem I think it just adds to appeal.

I only have 5 and it’s unlikely I will make more, I do plan to add a girl version in coming weeks but I probably wont make any more boys.  You can find them here and a couple on Folksy.

Mr Squirrel has also been listed, again this is likely to be a winter only product, I have only made a few.

The waistcoats are lined with Liberty Tana Lawn in Mirabelle print and have real leather buttons, again, these come at a price but I so badly wanted leather and as a finishing touch each has a hand-woven flower.

Job done.

Foxes and badgers coming next 🙂

 

17 thoughts on “Boy Bunnies and Squirrels…

  1. Totally adorable! Your attention to detail is as meticulous as ever, they look stunning.

    It’s funny, I have a few pieces that I want to redesign. Now I have more time on my hands I see little improvements I could make. I also have 8 years worth of household neglect to catch up on, so the improvements may have to wait while!

    • Oh glad someone likes Mr Squirrel best as he was the original but I was worried the Bunny comes off better once photographed. Have a fab weekend. Bethx

  2. Your attention to detail is just astounding Beth. They’re lovely, I’m sure they won’t last long in the shop! I’m especially looking forward to seeing the badgers next! x

    • I need to deliver on Badgers, Jane, as I think a few are waiting to see how they turn out. Glad you like the new Squirrels and Bunnies. Bx

  3. They all look great Beth! I think the waistcoats are lovely on the bunnies and the squirrel is very cute!! Everything is so neat. 🙂
    Really looking forward to seeing the badgers, I love black and white animals!
    Vivienne x

    • Thanks, I am attempting to use my ‘neatness’ in the house at the moment (trying and failing) so I can feel a little more relaxed, it’s such a mess I almost don’t know where to start. Badgers next week, I hope. Bethx

  4. aahh they are so cute looking, love their tails at the back, so so cute! gggrrr how dare life get in the way of ideas, I seem to get loads swimming around in my head and if i don’t write them down asap they are gone forever due to someone calling with things like ‘finished!’ whilst they are on the loo 😦 Hey ho, one day I will be wishing they were all small again so really should enjoy this time 🙂 xxx

    • This made me laugh a lot as my life is also sprinkled with a liberal amount of ‘can you wipe my bottom’ calls. Ah the pleasure of small ones 😉 Bethx

  5. Beth these are stunning, gorgeous work…I just wish I had littlies to buy for! You made me LOL with the back to front squirrel! I won’t be rude here but I could make another comment ;0) !!
    Those jackets are perfect for both and I must admit that the new style ears on the bunnies are great. Time is racing on…mid October already.
    Take care and keep warm, the first frost is forecast tonight here in the South,
    Jane x

    • We must have similar minds as I had to resist a smutty comment re the back to front photo. Glad you like the new ears, I think they are cute and different enough to the original that it doesn’t de-value it, if that makes sense (I would hate buyers of the original to think they have an inferior bunny!).

      Have a lovely weekend, the temp will be rising again I hear. Bethx

  6. Job PERFECTLY done, once again Beth! So beautiful! And the squirrel’s tail…how adorable is that?

    I am, once again, wondering how we ended up almost-November already? Christmas-items should be in production already but…next year, perhaps?

    Happy weekend soon, Beth!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thanks so much Mia, glad you like them. Yes time is racing as always, I will only achieve about half my planned designs before the big ‘C’ but I always knew this.

      Have a great weekend. Bethx

  7. Pingback: New wool bunnies… « The Linen Cat Blog

Leave a Reply

