Blackcurrant Birds…

My oldest came home from school today very excited about a ‘special treat’ he had for me.  He decided we would turn the bunk beds into a cinema (this involves putting blankets over the sides, fairy lights up and hanging the in-car DVD player from the wall), and I would be given a holiday from working and sewing and could squeeze in and eat my tea in there with the boys and watch a movie.  As a result (and my inability to upset him by explaining I’d much rather sew and in fact have lots of household jobs to do) I am now squeezed into the lower bunk, with my laptop watching ‘Fantastic Mr Fox’.  I can think of worse things to be doing, it’s a bit cramped and smells of little boys feet but hey-ho, I’ve made the little monsters happy so that’s worth it.

Anyhow, as I’m sat here and can’t really do anything I thought I’d list some new Little Birds I finished last week.

I made the above ages ago as gifts for the boys teachers (see here) and decided then that I’d like to make a batch for the Autumn/Winter shop.

I love blackcurrants and I especially love jam and cassis made from the ones we grow in our garden.  I also love the dark purple colour, if you asked me what my favourite colour was I would never say purple but deep berry purples and wine reds are most definitely high on my list, in fact my favourite tights at the moment are some lovely merino wool wine coloured ones.  Just and extra little fact for you there, bet you really wanted to know that.

Here they are all lined up…

and mounted up on cards ready to be popped into cello bags.
Annoyingly difficult to photograph and get the colours even nearly correct, especially in the gloom of the weather at the moment but there you go.  Listed in the shop here and probably on Folksy soon….depending on how the next couple of hours go and if I am allowed to leave my ‘special holiday’.
Ok, off to cuddle little boys and swoon over Mrs Foxes yellow painting smock (I am so going to make myself one of those!) 🙂

 

14 thoughts on “Blackcurrant Birds…

  1. I never saw Fantastic Mr Fox, but remember one of the characters tops was knitted using cocktail sticks!
    lovely birdies hope they fly away soon!
    xxx

    • Oh it’s a brilliant movie and one that I can cope with the boys playing over and over! I think the main reason I like it (apart from the humour, it is very funny) are the intricate details in the animation, I can well imagine jumpers having been knitted on cocktail sticks. Bethx

  2. Awe bless them, that’s lovely! 🙂
    Love the little birdies, definitely blackcurrant coloured, I can almost taste the blackcurrant just by looking at them!
    Vivienne x

  3. Mmmmmm that colour has a definite ” taste” to it Beth. Beautiful autumn birdies there. Enjoy your holiday in the bottom of the bunk bed….sounds pretty fab to me ;0)
    Jane x

  4. Love the birds… and most bizarrely sitting here eating a slice of toast covered in the blackcurrant jam I made this afternoon! Absolutely love the foxes you made recently too. Our Fairy Mouse from last Christmas still sits in state in the living room, had a gorgeous moment last week of one of the cats snuggled up to her!

    • Oh yummy, I really do love blackcurrant jam. Glad the Fairy mouse is still a hit…..linen mice are not just for Christmas – lol!

      Bethx

  5. Oh goodness I often read your blog and love the things you make but just HAD to comment on how awesome that bunk bed cinema sounds! Too adorable. My own boys would do something just like that too, and I would sit there a little grudgingly but later be so awfully glad I had. Fantastic Mr Fox is a family favourite around here too 🙂

    • My boys have some crazy/great ideas and the bunk bed cinema is always a favourite. We even have microwave popcorn in so I can make them a bowl whilst they watch!

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting 🙂

  6. awww, thats so sweet 🙂 its not long before the time that they want to do things like this is over, I mainly get asked for lifts to parties these days and thats it lol 🙂

    love the birds.

    • Ah yes, my oldest is already refusing to cuddle on demand, I have to actually earn kisses these days 😉 Glad you like the birds. Bx

  7. I love Fantastic Mr. Fox! And all those birdies. 🙂 I don’t know if I have tried blackcurrant jam before, I am going to have to look for some next time I’m in the city.

    • Not sure of it’s a British thing, blackcurrant jam….I’d never really thought about it to be honest so maybe it is. If you find a jar it’s yummy, I can highly recommend it, especially if you don’t like too much sugar in your jam and prefer a more tart taste.

      Fantastic Mr F rocks!

Leave a Reply

