Spring Cleaning…

Spring is most definitely all around at the moment.  I haven’t listened to any music today, just the birds which are making rather a lot of chatter and with the sun streaming through the studio glass, it is making me very happy.  It wont last, apparently, we are due some low temperatures in the coming days but the general mild temperatures and sping-like feel has made me very enthusiastic to clean both the house (I know, it’s a miracle!) and my shop.

As always I like to start the new year with new colours, and often this is inspired by a fabric.  In this year’s case it’s a lovely sunny yellow (airing on the mustard side, I don’t do any other kind of yellow, especially not acid coloured) ‘Daisy Garland’ from the ‘Just Dandy’ collection by Josephine Kimberling for Robert Kaufman bought from M is for Make.  I love it and have gone a bit overboard with my plans for it’s use, but for now, I’m starting with lavender birds.

I pretty much also always start the year with new birds, I like to change the ones I have here hanging around the house and it fits in with the spring cleaning vibe I’m feeling.

I have also batched up some birds in the fabulous ‘Sophie’ by Chez Moi for Moda.

I’m surprised I like this print so much as I generally prefer a more graphic style.  It reminds me of an old-fashioned painted gypsy caravan, a painter in a village near used to own one and I was in love with is as a child, each time we visit Groombridge I imagine rescuing one of the rather dilapidated ones they have as part of their woodland walk and bringing it back home to return it to it’s former glory.

They were a nightmare to cut, the floral pattern is large and it was difficult to make sure each bird had a fair share of flowers verses background, but I do like the result so it was worth the slight fabric wastage involved.

Both birds are listed here.

On a completely random note, I just discovered that Susan Hill, who wrote ‘The Magic Apple Tree’, one of my favourite books, was also the writer of ‘The Women in Black‘ which for some reason surprised me (I haven’t read any of her fictional work so I didn’t know she had written such a famous ghost story).  I only discovered this after coming across a trailer for the new film version starring Daniel Radcliffe, weirdly I am one of the few not to have seen the stage play, but I did watch the TV version back in 1989  which was shown on Christmas Eve when everyone was out except my brother and me, we ended up so scared he slept in my room on the put up bed.  I have never forgotten it and can remember every detail to this day.  There you go, bit of random chatter for you there and my, hasn’t Daniel grown up! 😉

 

21 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning…

  1. Wow – I don’t think I’ve ever felt enthusiastic about cleaning the house!!
    I love your little birds – they do look very spring like and bright which is lovely this time of year :o)

    • I can’t lie, it’s not so much enthusiasm about the actual cleaning, more about the idea of having a clean and organised house (as ours hasn’t been for some time) and I’m on a roll with attempting to de-clutter. Glad you like the new birds 🙂

  2. I just have to say I saw that same TV adaptation about 15 years ago. I can honestly say it’s the most terrifying thing I’ve ever seen! One bit in particular (I’m sure you know which bit!) had my husband, my sister-in-law and myself all screaming out loud! I dreamt of her every night for ages afterwards. Susan Hill can certainly write a good ghost story! x

    • Glad it’s not just me and my brother, it scared the cr*p out of us both and oddly we were taking about it last time we saw each other. I never connected it with the stage play (which I know is a little different) but I always just though of it as a random TV movie I was daft enough to watch on Christmas eve assuming it’d be ‘fun’. Oh and I do know exactly the bit you’re referring to. Not sure if you know her ‘The Magic Apple Tree’ book but it’s an account of a year in her cottage and village she lives in, all W.I. and cooking jam, not in the least bit telling of her other life as a fantastic writer of scary ghost stories. Bx

  3. Spring cleaning – you are the best! We had our first almost decent snow last night, still not thinking of spring cleaning yet. I do have our son’s birthday party this Saturday – so at least I will be doing some sort of cleaning tonight. 🙂

    • I think being ill before Christmas and letting the house fall into such a mess was the last straw, I really need to live in a clean and tidy home and ours has never been, as we spent the first 4 years living with builders and dust on and off. I am a bit envious of your snow, I am still hoping for some this winter but it doesn’t feel possible in the false spring we are having.

      Hope the party goes well, and happy birthday to your son 🙂 Bethx

  4. Pretty birds, and I especially love the blue-flowered ones! So springly!

    I am dreaming of the spring-clean, too, but first I should get the rest of the Christmas boxed away *sigh* …Maybe in February…

    Happy sewing!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thanks Mia, I was unusually keen to remove and tidy away all our Christmas decorations this year. I have a feeling we are in for a weather change (much colder is forecast) so my enthusiasm may not last 🙂 Bethx

  5. Great news that you’re feeling like spring cleaning – go with it while it lasts! New birds are very pretty. I have a Susan Hill book bookmarked in amazon…one day I’ll get it…….but didn’t realise she wrote fiction either. JUliex

    • I know, I can imagine if the weather turns colder/darker I might fall back into retreat. I actually bought a small hardback version of The Woman in Black after writing this post but am wondering if I’ll be too chicken to read it – lol! Bethx

  6. I’m spring cleaning too, not the most exciting thing to do but I know how righteous I’ll feel when it’s done. 🙂
    I adore mustard one of my favourite colours, your little mustard bird is gorgeous, so much so that one is on it’s way to me now!!!
    Vivienne x

  7. Love the new bird fabrics! Just realised I didn’t comment on your last blog entry, but only because it took me off on such a trip down memory lane, looking at the Robert Thompson website and wishing I could afford a stool like my grandparents had!!

    • Glad I kicked off a memory lane trip, every time I visit ‘Bettys’ tearooms when we are home, they have a little charity collection box on the counter (I think in the Ilkley branch) and it’s a Robert Thompson mouse box and I lust after it as I pop a few pennies in. I treated myself to a nut bowl when I also bought my sisters but that’s all I can afford. Bx

  8. Oh Beth I do love that sunny yellow fabric. Great to see new designs and a spring clean. I have to admit that as a kid I could be so scared by ghost stories that I banned myself from watching them. Interestingly all my fear of the dark, spooks etc evaporated when I had my kids. I now really can say I love the dark and have no fear of it all (or things that may go bump in the night). It is getting chillier for the weekend so wrap up warm!
    Jane x

  9. I love the colours of the new birds, I’ll have to buy another one soon as my littlest steals my current ones all the time and I find them hung on his bed 🙂

    We’ve been attempting to have a clean/sort but it so far all it’s achieved is more chaos, we’ll get there I’m sure

    Abi

    • Glad you like the new birds 🙂 Funnily my boys have a few each as they always ask when I make a new colour version if they can have one, considering their love of plastic action/hero figures this always surprises me!

      My cleaning enthusiasm died off but I’ve attempted to get going agin in the kitchen today. Bethx

  10. Beth I just love those fabrics and yes, well worth your effort to cut so those birds all look so pretty! Good luck with your de-cluttering too, I am using your fresh flowers idea as inspiration 🙂

Leave a Reply

