New wool bunnies…

One of the earliest designs for The Linen Cat was a wool bunny in a Liberty print dress; there were two girl colour versions plus boys wearing denim shorts with ric-rac and shirts, and although I loved them dearly (especially the shirring and the crochet flowers on the girls) I felt, last year, that it was time for a re-design. I often debate moving into more of a 3D design with my softies but it’s not how I had originally imagined them, I have always tried to keep to simple shapes and an almost flat childlike profile so I don’t want to move too far away from this, instead I have given the new bunnies ears similar to the rabbit egg cosy and generally moved the body design to one similar to the linen mice (which ironically started out as the same pattern as the original wool bunny but thinned and tweaked – are you still with me?!).  As a result the new bunny has thinner arms and legs which are ‘jointed’ and a more triangular-shaped head. Next I tried making a bunny in the cream cashmere & wool mix that I normally save for the cashmere bears.  I have a very limited amount of this fabric left but it’s so unbelievably soft that I couldn’t resist.  I would say now that I prefer the more pure white colour of the original wool flannel but it has a much firmer feel and is an entirely different texture, not quite as huggable as the cashmere. I then splashed out on some good old Liberty Tana Lawn in Betsy, but in a new colour way for me, turquoise.  I have always loved and used the pink but the turquoise version has such a retro feel and it looks so good with the cream wool. All this happened almost a year ago, the sharper amongst you will already know that I listed a boy bunny to this new pattern wearing a jolly red waistcoat last year, but the girls have been sitting in a box patiently waiting for their turn.  I had even made a final sample of the dress so it was really only a question of pulling my finger out and getting the actual ones made-up.

And so last week, as I found myself jumping from project to project (I can’t seem to settle on one thing at the moment) the pile of bunnies called to me and begged to be finished in time for Easter.  One of the points of stalling was my desire to have a larger number to list, I generally prefer to have a small pile before adding something new to the shop and I’d planned to make more of the cream bodies, having used half of the original for the boys; but I figured we could be here in a year’s time and they might still be waiting, so I got on with it.

They have cute dresses with an attached white underskirt and broderie anglaise trim and as always everything is in natural fabrics except for the safety stuffing.  I had a bit of a nightmare trying to buy 100% cotton broderie anglaise and now have a stash of polyester mix to find a use for, it’s not that I refuse to use anything other than natural fibers, it’s just the polyester mix doesn’t feel right and I do generally prefer cotton.

I might be a little bit in love with the turquoise version, it reminds me of toys from my childhood.

They have sweet bobble tails

and are listed in the shop.  I plan to put a couple of the pink on Folksy given time, but I’d like to re-photograph them first, when the light is better, it was a bit too dingy today.

I am attempting to have a general clear out and re-create a sale section for the shop.  I did my tax return in good time this year and it gave me an opportunity to look back on both 2010-11 and on 2011-12 (so far) and see exactly what has sold and what hasn’t, I need to use my storage space better as Linen Cat stock is taking over the house so it’s time some things went.  Probably one for another post all to itself, I need to go now and but my little monsters darlings to bed before they dive me crazy 😉

28 thoughts on “New wool bunnies…

  1. These are lovely. Really liking the turquoise dresses – it’s nice to have the choise of something for a girl that isn’t pink! ;o) Just wish I had a little person to buy one for!

  2. These are so gorgeous Beth. I am not a pink girl at all so I just love the blue version. I need to keep hinting to my daughter re grandchildren after the wedding in July – LOL. I can’t see that happening for some years but I can dream. You have created the sweetest bunnies, I like all the tweaks you have made…and as for those sweet tails popping out at the back…!
    Keep warm it’s freeeeeeeeeeezing!
    Jane x

    • Glad you like them and the comment re grandchildren made me laugh – a lot! I am the only sibling with kids so mine are spoilt rotton, I’m hoping one way they might have some cousins to play with. Bethx

    • I am sure I wore a dress just like this as a child, probably why I design this way, my Mum was a fan of traditional and smocked dresses and most were homemade. I am so lazy as I never make clothing for my boys. Bethx

  3. The bunnies look excellent, Beth. The new ears are delightful! I think the turquoise fabric is very bright and cheerful (and extremely lovely).
    I’ve been working on lots of different things recently, too. I’m just letting myself try things out, and hoping that they all get finished at some point!
    Have fun x

    • It’s fun to relax and play around with new things, I am feeling a bit lazy at the moment which is bad timing as I have a deadline to work to and I’d much rather be playing with new designs. Glad you like the new bunnies. Bx

  4. Very cute bunnies, Beth, and those little round tail peaking…Adorable! And the dress-fabrics are perfect too. These little ones will be so much loved!

    I wish you a wonderful February, may it be crafty, sunny and fun!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Hi Mia, we are finally getting some snow, which doesn’t happen all that often here in the South. It’s sitting on the ground today but I think will be gone by mid week.

      Glad you like the new bunnies.

      I hope you are having a lovely sunny pre-spring time! Bethx

  5. I love the new bunny ears. The cream cashmere works so well with the turquoise – lovely to have non-pink girly things.
    I wonder whether you have got some snow? I know you don’t generally get much but it sounds as if most of the south has it so I hope you do too – I know you and the boys have been wishing for some. We don’t have a single flake….will have to relocate further south! Juliex

    • I agree on the non-pink bit and I don’t even have girls – lol! I’m not one for gender colours, I’m afraid my boys often had pink socks and shirts when they were little etc. We had a good 5 inches of snow, still mostly here today but the roads have been well cleaned, although out back road is a little slippy. The boys were very, very happy, thanks for asking 🙂 Bethx

  6. Gorgeous bunnies, I especially like the fabrics you have used. I think the new ears are great.
    We have a linen mouse and (I hope you don’t mind!) I thought it a little sad that you couldn’t see her lovely feet and shoes when she’s in a sitting position. I don’t expect it’s relevant with the bunnies as their feet are plain. I’m delighted otherwise with the mouse, I don’t know that it would bother anyone else and at the moment the mouse is in my daughter’s bed and so is lying down most of the time, I guess I’m thinking ahead to when the mouse might find it spends more time looking pretty on a shelf. Just noting it here incase it may be of interest in any furture designs, especially where you put fancy feet on.
    Anne.

    • Hi Anne, it’s a really good point about the linen mouse shoes and not one I’d thought of, I’ll definitely remember it for next Winter when I make more specials – thanks for pointing it out and glad you like the new bunnies! Bethx

    • Hi Barbara, I’m afraid I don’t sell the pattern, only the made up bunnies which can be found in my shop (www.thelinencat.com) which should also be linked from the blog post. Not sure where you are in the world, but I’m afraid I only sell and ship to the UK. Hope that helps, Beth 🙂

  7. your bunnies are so so cute love them, i made one bunnie which you can see on my facebook Bearsfootprints, not as cute as yours though, why not pop by i would love to see you on there x Helen x

    • I am rubbish on facebook, I struggle with Google+, blogging and tweeting and daren’t add to the list but I’ll go take a look when I get some child free time as would love to see your bunny, I’m sure it is very cute 🙂

Leave a Reply

