Supporting handmade…

As someone whom sells my own work, I try to repay the kindness, as often as possible, by buying from small companies or other people in the ‘handmade community’ and I always photograph things to show here in the blog to spread the word.  I’ll confess I’ve slipped a bit recently and found a few photos in my  iPhoto library waiting to be posted so here goes:

Heart and Bone needle felted skull brooch and hair pin by Lieutske Visser Design on Folksy. (F keeps trying to ‘borrow’ this, he is currently in a pirate/skull/scary monster phase).

Vintage Bee Hare Pin Brooch by Ruby Spirit Designs also Folksy.

Some special goodies I bought for myself at Christmas time, after everyone ignored my attempts to put them on my wish list.  Both pieces are by Joanna Rutter and I wear the necklace most days, I also bought a pair of her ‘everyday’ studs (not shown here) which sit permanently in my ears.

Last and by no means least some great bibs from A Crafty Hen, another great Folksy seller!

I tell you, looking at these photos my poor Victorian work table would benefit from some TLC, perhaps an oiling and my sticking less pins in it 😉

7 thoughts on “Supporting handmade…

  1. I have to say there are sooo many lovely things on Folksy- I love browsing – its lovely to find such individual original stuff , so much nicer than shopping on the high street. I’m a definite handmade convert!

  2. I too like to buy handmade when ever I can and the internet helps me do my shopping this way. I love the hare and bee brooch the best!
    xxx

  3. I didn’t always know how much I loved handmade. Having grown up with a mom who made most everything, it seemed the norm. It took many years for me to realize how rare that was.
    The bee brooch is my favorite.

    • It’s interesting as my Mum also made lots of things herself, all our party dresses were homemade (smocked in those days – the 70’s) and my Gran knitted most of out cardigans etc plus all jam was homemade, so I was also brought up that way too, must have had an influence, I think. Bx

Leave a Reply

