Summer Lavender Birds…

I was going to talk about how my ‘home alone’ stint is going but so far it’s something along the lines of ‘lack of sleep, 5.30 awake every morning….ill kids…tired…very tired…shout rather too much’ and let’s face it, that may continue to be the pattern for the next 7 weeks so I’ll try not to keep mentioning it.  Much.

So, instead, here are the new lavender birds to match the little felt ones and the Summer collection colours of Racey Helps.

I’ve made similar before and they were very popular, the Ellie pattern fabric by Michael Miller is perfect as not only do the colours fit the theme but so does the simple, bold, retro flower pattern; I’m so glad I still have some of this fabric left.  I’ve only made a very small batch this time as I have quite a few lavender birds made up at the moment, you can find them here.

Still not decided what to do about Folksy, thanks so much for all your honest thoughts on this, and I’m still quite distracted with decorating.  I’m off to Glyndebourne tomorrow, I’m most excited, Mum is looking after the kids.  It’s set to be quite chilly and cloudy so I’ve abandoned the idea of wearing a silky, floaty dress and instead I’m going in a nice plum tulip dress once donated to me by my Sister (some of my nicest clothes come from her, she is also the one generously taking me to Glyndebourne).  It’s a good excuse to wear my Chia Mihara, Colibri shoes which I saved up forever for and had to buy direct from the Chia Mihara shop in Spain (the only place I could get them in plum), and added bonus, I don’t need to squeeze in time for a home pedicure.  Hope it doesn’t rain.

23 thoughts on “Summer Lavender Birds…

  1. You gotta love Michael Miller – his designs are so cheerful.
    I’m a little jealous (only a little) of your Chia Mihara shoes – what a beautiful colour. I remember having some shoes in this very colour when I was younger – unfortunately, our new Labrador decided that they’d be rather tasty & ate them, (sob) I’d only worn them once!!!
    Have a wonderful outting to Glynbourne – I look forward to hearing all about it.
    Enjoy your weekend. Jill x

    • Naughty dog! I’d have cried, we used to have a lab that also ate everything not hidden away, used to drive me bonkers. Bx

  2. Pretty birds as always Beth! 🙂
    Hope you manage to catch up on some sleep soon. At least you can have some ‘me’ tomorrow, have a wonderful time! 🙂
    Vivienne x

    • Thanks Vivienne, it was GREAT, I need to have more ‘me’ fixes in the diary, it makes such a difference to have some time away. Bx

  3. Wishing you strength for the rest of your home alone time. Recharging with a little glamour time at the opera should help! Love those shoes… gosh the Spanish seem to make the best shoes 🙂

  4. Sorry to hear of your sleep deprivation. My morning job starts at 5.30am and I often plod through the day. Sometimes the children watch too much T.V. (which I don’t like) but a bit of peace is sometimes a priority.
    I too love the Miller fabric, and the shoes are beautiful ( I can’t walk in high heels – I look like a penguin, very ungainly! )
    Hope you have a great time at Glynbourne!

    • Ouch! I used to do a job that started at 5am, I feel for you as I remember well how it felt to start so early – I used to meet loads of people coming home on the ‘night bus’ after a heavy night out. Very odd. I am a big heels fan, I just don’t wear them very often these days. Bx

    • We had a great time – no rain – hurrah! Bit windy though, most people moved under cover for the main meal break (at the first interval) we braved it though and pretended we weren’t cold. Bx

  5. I love those shoes, Beth, you can’t have anything but the best time with those! I wish you had lovely day with your Sis!

    Lovely Sunday!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thanks. We are all well in time for the weekend, shame it’s set to rain for both days! (never happy, such a typical Brit 😉 ) Bx

    • Poor you, I hope you’ve managed to get some decent sleep, my boys have somehow, finally, tipped a balance where they sleep all night – miracle! Sadly they still get up at the crack of dawn. I love my Chia Mihara shoes, not sure I should admit how big my collection is now

  6. Poor you, I hope you’ve managed to get some decent sleep, my boys have somehow, finally, tipped a balance where they sleep all night – miracle! Sadly they still get up at the crack of dawn. I love my Chia Mihara shoes, not sure I should admit how big my collection is now 😉

Leave a Reply

