Apple Lavender Bags…

I’ve been planning these for a very, very long time.  The final design is blatantly inspired by all those fabulous apple fabrics that are out there, but the initial idea came from a very different project, one which I will reveal once I get it worked out and ready for the shop.  I honestly hadn’t thought about teachers gifts until they were nearly finished, but they work well for this so I though I had better stop doodling different versions (which, as I’ve already said, I’ve been doing for well over a year now in my notebook!) and get them made.

I had fun working out all the details…

and I especially like the little glass faceted ‘pips’.

I (stupidly) always wanted to make them in linen, hand dyed to match all my other products where I also use dyed linen.  I forgot that linen is a bug*er to iron and that the endless creases would really annoy me.  Also, I ruined one lavender bag by over water spraying it before ironing and it led to some of the red leaching into the bright white linen on the front and leaving pink stains.  Lesson learnt there and the downside of hand dying, no matter how much I rinse the fabric, some colour will always run a little if washed too hot.

I thought the red one would be my favourite but then I made the green and there is something about the topaz pips and fresh apple green colour that I like just a little bit more.

I had planned to hand stitch my tape labels on the back, they just didn’t work placed in the side seam, where I would normally put them, but the linen just creased and I struggled to make it tidy so I abandoned that idea and have added swing tags fastened to the front with some lovely black bulb pins I bought forever ago from Merchant and Mills.  I imagine these to look really nice hanging on a kitchen cupboard door, in fact that’s exactly where one will be going in our house.  I am also giving them as teachers gifts this year, I plan to get the boys to write a message on the back that I will machine embroider.  Job done 🙂

You can find them here.

26 thoughts on “Apple Lavender Bags…

  1. lovely juicy apples! I am sure any teacher would love to recieve one….even more than chocolate!
    I think you should give us a peek into your sketch book for one post…I’d love to have a little look.
    nosey aren’t I?
    xxx

  2. Great apples Beth, they are both lovely but I too love the green version . I am sure they will be flying out of your shop….what a great idea for teacher’s pressies! Hope you have enjoyed the glorious sunshine I had today ;0)
    Jane x

    • It’s mixed weather around here, very odd, sunshine and showers in quite extreme measures. As long as the summer hols produce some sun, it’ll be fine. Just feel bad for all those flooded homes! Bethx

  3. Oh Beth, these are so gorgeous! I love the green one the most, I must get one for my mum, she will love this! You must be very proud of the end product, I really love the linen, it makes it look very fresh 🙂 I’m sure there going to be a big hit in your shop 🙂 safxxx

    • Thanks Saffa, glad you like them. I haven’t forgotten about blogging your lovely card, just need to find time to write some posts. Bx

    • At least the dye run was only half way through the making process, I’d have cried if it’s have been at the end! Oh well, live and learn. Bethx

    • Thanks 🙂 I never mentioned, C’s teacher is male, it’ll be interesting to see what he makes of his lavender bag! Bx

  4. What a great idea Beth, you are clever!! 🙂
    Both are lovely but I do favour the green but then green always wins with me!
    Vivienne x

    • Thanks Jane, I do love things to be neat and tidy, I think it’s may way of coping with other parts of my life being less controllable, it balances things out. Kind of. Bethx

  5. Both red&green apples are lovely, Beth, and you’re such a brave girl working with linen this much! Your work is beautiful and there’s never a wrinkle to be seen, but the amount of ironing would drive me insane. But these are perfect teacher’s gift (and us others too)!

    Happy Saturday!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thanks Mia 🙂 I get a strange kind of satisfaction from freshly ironed linen, shame it instantly creases again – ha ha! Beth

  6. I love both colourways. As an ex teacher i would have loved to receive one of these, it makes such a change after chocloates and flowers galore.

    • I’m glad you said this, everyone’s giving money this year, to buy teachers vouchers….we’ve put money towards this but I wanted the boys to have a part in the gift as well, so they’ve written their messages on the back of the lavender bags, which I’ve embroidered over. They get quite excited to be part of the gift giving. Bethx

  7. Pingback: Apple Aprons…..I Know, It Really Is a Miracle, They Are Finished!! | The Linen Cat Blog

  8. Pingback: Teachers Gifts 2013… | The Linen Cat Blog

Leave a Reply

