Tweed Monster Purses…

I’m happy to admit I’m struggling.  I always do at this time of year, I imagine that as soon as the boys start school I’ll have loads of time and I’ll be able to crack on, sewing during the day and have a (finally!) tidy house, bake the odd cake, potter in the garden, all that idyllic life stuff but no, in reality I feel a bit stressed, I have so much I want to do and although I am now ‘free’ from 9am-3pm the time seems to be disappearing into a black hole of laundry, teachers meetings, trying to get the garden ready for winter and making blinds (which I HATE, just for the record).

Well, enough moaning, I know most people in blogworld are feeling the same,. I find when I feel overwhelmed, I need to just get my head down and sew when I can, even if I don’t feel like it and tick off lists as it keeps me motivated and reduces the stress.

I’ve been working through some of the ‘open projects’ that have been sitting in boxes for months, if not years.  I started some little monster pouches using up tweed left over from Tweed Bunny Purses a very long time ago and last week I buckled down and got them finished.

There are only a few.  I talked a while ago about maybe adding tweed monsters to the existing corduroy ones and maybe making them a little larger (for all those big kids out there who want to be able to fit a credit card in – me included!), this is still an open plan but unlikely to happen until early next year.  For now these are made up from odds and ends, and are the usual size, they have cute crochet zip pulls that make me think of Ermentrude from the Magic Roundabout.

They have varied floral linings – I took loads of photos of the lining fabric etc, but the light hasn’t been great so my photos generally are a bit crap.

As with all my monster purses, they are a bit wonky, those eyes are really, really hard to zig-zag around as they are quite a tight circle and it’s hard to keep it neat.  I like to think it all adds to the character.

The final one is a bit different to the others.  For some reason it makes me think of Vivienne Westwood, maybe it’s the slight punk quality?

I haven’t packed them up yet, need to do that now and then get back to blind making so I can be free to sew nice shop things next week.  You can find them listed here, do please let me know if you see any mistakes, I sometimes get listing blindness, where I can’t see bad spelling etc, it all just merges.  I am slightly dreading listing all the new autumn stock, it takes ages but I’ll admit is very satisfying once done.  Just need to get all the photos taken.  Next week.  I hope 🙂

17 thoughts on “Tweed Monster Purses…

  1. Oow Beth! I love these monster purses! The pink one is my favourite! Don’t worry, I know what you mean when you say you feel like your struggling, ‘just keep plodding’ is my dads saying to me every time I feel like that. You should be very proud of these though, they are gorgeous 🙂 I hope you feel better soon, take a deep breath and keep going – it will get better! (that’s what I keep telling myself anyhow, every time I feel like I’m losing the plot!) You keep inspiring me with your wonderful creations and I can’t wait to see what’s next! I hope you feel better soon 🙂 safxxx

    • Your Dad is so right, if you keep plodding on, the list gets shorted, the stress lifts and it always works out. I do take time out to also sit and read/surf/garden when that also feels right but it tends to get me back into sewing if I kind of nibble away at it. Works for me anyway!! Thanks for the lovely words, I always feel like that this time of year so I know it’ll pass. Hope all’s well with you. Bx

  2. The brown one appeals to me especially and I can completely see why the zip pulls remind you of ermentrude. I haven’t had a chance to have a very thorough look at your site but nothing major jumped out. I did like the gallery section, I think it may be quite new or maybe I’ve just not spotted it so far – I think it would be especially useful for a new visitor to get a feel for what you make and to show how you are changing stock seasonally. I hope you get into the swing of things again soon. I’m in a bit of a rut too. Having worked really hard over the summer to squeeze in sewing time I’m now struggling to motivate myself. Juliex

    • Oh glad you like the gallery, it is new, I figured it’d be good for press interest etc to see my ‘out of season’ designs as I really do only change my shop as the season changes which makes it difficult to pitch designs. It’s also quite interesting for me to see how things have progressed, I need to put more time into it though and tidy it up a bit. I hope things ease up for you and you get your sewing mojo back, life gets in the way sometimes, doesn’t it? Bethx

  3. They are really lovely Beth. My favourite is the last one which reminds me of kilts and the highlands! The Scottish monster. As you say many people feel the same when the kids go back, a bit like wading through porridge. Good to have a list though, little jobs often – and you’ll get there.

    • Wading through porridge is the best analogy yet, so very accurate! It’ll ease, I think it’s the expectation of how much time you’ll have verses the reality of school runs, etc. I agree, lists are great, ticking them off makes me happy 🙂 Bethx

  4. OMG I know what you mean! Enough with the six sided letters from three different schools full of dates, it’s all giving me palpatations! I think I must have relaxed TOO much this summer, the old brains just floated away into the blue yonder! Well done for getting something done anyway! I love the monsters!

    • Ha, ha this really made me laugh as it’s the same here, although luckily only one school. There’s already letters after letters about harvest festival boxes, term topic homeworks, help needed with walks etc and I’ve said yes to street dancing lessons, swimming lessons and various after school clubs – eek! I think my brain has also gone to sleep 😉 Bethx

  5. These are lovely. They’re all my favourite. I’ve really struggled this week & haven’t got a clue where my ‘spare’ hours have gone. Must make an effort to be a better manager of time next week. Wishing you a wonderful weekend, Beth. We’re off upto York for a catch-up with old friends. xx

    • Oh lovely, I do love (and miss) York. I had a happy Art Foundation year there, happiest year of my late teens really, loads of fun and such a fabulous city to be in. Hope you have a great time! Bethx

  6. Hello dear Beth,

    I wish talking about struggling with things helps you a bit, it does to me! And that list ticking, oh so much too 🙂 And the monsters! They’re the cutest, the pink-green is simply adorable, great work once again!

    I wish you happy last weeks of September, and many creative hours too!

    Yours,
    Mia

Leave a Reply

