Beautiful Charts….or ‘This may take over from my Chie Mihara buying obsession’

I’m giving this little shopping event a post of it’s own, because I’m so in love and now have a hankering for everything from this Etsy shop.  I blame Flora, she blogged some amazing Jung Koch Quentell educational charts with squid images that are more than fabulous and I couldn’t resist following the link to the Etsy shop Bonnie and Bell.  Sadly, I already know that this isn’t quite M’s taste, we differ quite a bit in some areas, I often wonder what ‘my’ house would look like, should I not have to compromise.  I should state here, very certainly, that M’s house would also look very different, I tend towards  a more arty kind of organised ‘clutter’, he to a tidier, more minimal feel.  So really, me, a hoarder, him a thrower away…..it must be a nightmare living with me 😉

Anyway, I treated myself (ie my own money so I don’t need permission) to this lovely Autumn scene.  I couldn’t resist, and although I am hankering madly after some of the Jung Koch Quentell floral charts (especially the primrose and hazelnut ones) I have an exact spot in my studio for this and Autumn being my favourite time of the year, I just had to buy it.

I’m letting the images (all belonging to Linda of Bonnie & Belle, who kindly said I could use them) speak for themselves.

The pheasant flying away reminds me of the Royal Doulton ‘The Coppice’ vintage crockery that I’ve been collecting for some years now.

It’s farmers market in our local village today, and in keeping with the feel of this post, I’m going to drag the boys up there, via the local wood so we can enjoy what’s left of the beautiful tree colour, then I’ve promised pumpkin carving this afternoon, so I’d best flex my fingers ready for the pain involved in removing the insides ready for the boys to create the faces (they aren’t very good at scooping them out).  On an aside note, and I think I’ve mentioned this before, but do any of you Northern readers remember using turnips (which are actually swedes, but we always called them turnips) for Halloween lanterns?  And is this just a Northern thing?  Not fun trying to hollow them out, it was a kind of yearly ritual to attempt it without making your fingers bleed too much….we’re hard us Northerners 😉

16 thoughts on “Beautiful Charts….or ‘This may take over from my Chie Mihara buying obsession’

  1. Oh I had forgotten about carved turnips but yes we did them too. Or rather Mum did – don’t remember them every year though. Do you think once was enough?!

    • Probably – ha ha! We had a bonfire every year with all the other village kids and local farmers and it was the thing to bring your carved turnip. Thank goodness you can buy (or grow!) pumpkins these days 🙂

  2. What a lovely image, when I see a woodland scene like that I’m always on the look out for a bunny and I spy a little one.
    Yes we had turnips here for Halloween, we had never heard of pumpkins back then and yes they were extremely hard to carve out but as you say we northern Brits are hard! 😉
    Vivienne x

    • Glad you like the woodland scene, each time I loot at it, I imagine going for a walk there, I wonder what is just out of ‘shot’. I love paintings and drawings that you feel you could ‘walk’ into. Bx

  3. Just lost the rather long rambling comment I made……..we had turnips too. pumpkins are just not the same but I’m not patient enough to try the kids with turnips (or brave enough!).
    I love the charts, I’ve never seen anything like them. One or two I’d love to save up for. Enjoy yours. Juliex

    • They are lovely aren’t they? and sorry to hear you lost the comment, that happens to me when I do blogger comments and I know how frustrating it is – I ended up setting up a blog account purely for leaving comments.

      I’ll admit, I wouldn’t even try to hollow out a turnip these days – it’s bad enough cutting them for cooking!! Bethx

  4. Oh Beth it’s a beauty – I love it! I’m so pleased / slightly guilty that you visited Linda’s lovely shop and spent your hard earned cash 🙂

    Never carved a swede/turnip before, but one year we carved peppers and they made very easy and cute tea light lanterns – one for the kids to attempt!

    • I love Linda’s shop, I have a thing about botanical prints anyway and I really love the bold colours and shapes of the Jung Koch Quentell ones, it’s actually a bit odd I opted for a more fussy image, but I rather fell in love with the subject of the autumn chart and it has some of my favourite animals in. Peppers is a great idea, red ones would look fabulous for halloween! Bethx

  5. This autumn scene is so lovely Beth, wonderful colours, I can see why you feel in love with it. What a wonderful shop, I can see you becoming addicted to it and rightly so…I love all the botanical pictures, really beautiful and defiantly worth saving up for 🙂 Yours is very special though and will give you lots of inspiration in your studio so well worth the money! Good luck with the pumpkin carving and have a lovely halloween with your boys 🙂 Safxxx

    • It’s almost quite lucky the charts are so big – means I can’t go overboard – ha ha! They need a lot of wall space but in our ‘white’ house, large bold artwork looks great. I’m hoping to buy a hazelnut one, then I’m done 🙂 Bethx

  6. What beautiful pictures! My husband is fron Newcastle and he says they were called turnip lanterns. They used to cut the top off and scoop out and put the lid back with a hole in ( for the smoke to come out) when putting the candle in. He says you could often smell the swede cooking!
    Beth – I am also a horder and my husband an architect is minimalist so we have our moments too! I seem to spend a lot of time hiding things hoping he won’t find them !

    • Your husband’s memories are exactly the same as mine – they did rather smell after a while (they are so much smaller than pumpkins, it’s hard for the sides not to cook) and we also used old candle stubs. Your comment about hiding things made me laugh, as I’ve been collecting the crockery in this post for years, but I squirrel it away so I don’t get told off if I add another piece. I do like a tidy/organised house, ideally, but I also like ‘stuff’. I just need a bigger house – ha ha – OR I’ve always liked the idea of Tim Burton and Helena Bonham Carter, two houses joined so you each get your own half to do with as you wish. Best buy a lottery ticket then! Bx

  7. My dad used to carve a turnip for us on bonfire night. I can still smell that charred turnip smell when you put the candle in, and we didn’t have tealights then so it was a proper candle cut down to fit inside. It wasn’t until I was older and tried to hollow out a turnip myself that I realised how hard it was.

    • At least your Dad used to do it for you, my Mum made us do it – we used to have a selection of ‘implements’ such as spoons and a melon baller to scoop and cut with and would argue over the ‘best’ one. Thank goodness for pumpkins, that’s bad enough with my boys 🙂 Bethx

Leave a Reply

