Tweed Flower Purse Give Away – the Winner!

DSC_0042

Thank you everyone who entered the tweed purse give away, and for all your lovely comments. Screen shot 2012-12-01 at 15.42.01

The winner is Claire of ‘my norfolk life‘ who left comment number 18 (Claire, I’ve emailed you to get your address).  I hope to have more give aways coming up, I just need to be more organised.

I have pretty much stopped sewing here.  It wasn’t my intention, I had hopped to get a lot more done this season, including some re-stocks of old favourites such as ballerina mice (as so many people asked after them this year) and a new batch of christmas tree fairies but once I stopped, I felt very relaxed and I realised the only person putting pressure on me to get these things done is myself.  There is so much on at the moment that I feel happy with my decision to just leave the shop ticking over for now and to concentrate on other things, I do have quite a few half-finished projects but I’m happy to view them as a bonus get ahead for next year.

DSC_0039

I’ve been trying to get the house in order, finishing up some very long-standing jobs and general tidying.  The boys were over the top excited about advent calendars starting yesterday, after a sort pause, I agreed to start putting decorations up.  I don’t normally do this until further into December, although I am very much a Christmas person, I like to wait a bit before dolling the house up.  We haven’t gone too far, just the odd ornament at the moment.

DSC_0040

Charlie was desperate to do a ‘woodland scene’ that he could include ‘Foxy’ his favourite soft toy in so I left him too it.  At the time of taking the photo, Foxy is building train tracks with Charlie.  Marcus hates these bristle animals but me and the boys like them so we win 🙂

DSC_0022DSC_0027

The boys are spoilt for choice this year with advent, they have their very favourite sock/mouse calendar from Germany and completely homemade.

DSC_0026

Not only do they get chocolates, but on some days there is also a ‘parcel’ in the mouse bag.  It’s a lovely way to spread out the present giving and one we all really appreciate.  I am always amazed how good the boys are at not ‘sneak peeking’ in the bag, they love hunting down the correct number when they need to but otherwise the presents sit happily in the sack, untouched by inquisitive little fingers 😉

DSC_0040DSC_0044

They also have German ‘Kinder’ calendars and we bought them each a ‘Playmobil’ one after the success of last year’s.  I love how the scene builds over the 25 days, last time they had dinosaur and castle versions, as above.

DSC_0018

For me, I bought a Betty’s, Poppy Treffry one with little chocolates inside, to hang in my studio.  I know I could make one for myself, but sometimes it’s just nice to have someone else do the work.  M doesn’t have or want a calender….Bah Humbug 😉

Hope you’ve had a lovely weekend and it hasn’t been too wet, I wouldn’t mind a bit of snow to be honest.

11 thoughts on “Tweed Flower Purse Give Away – the Winner!

  1. Well done Claire. Love all the decorations Beth. I have my advent calendar up and today we brought our smaller chocolate tree inside…it has grown really well this year with the poor summer. We chose our bigger tree at the nursery today and it is being delivered tomorrow. I have put out our little german crib so like you bits go up gradually..such fun. Enjoy all the festivities…I think it is very sensible to stop the sewing and enjoy these special few weeks ;0)
    Jane x

  2. I love the little bristle animals too so you’re not the only ones, what do men know anyway pah. We’ve got a Lego Star Wars advent again this year and my favourite the advent train 🙂

  3. Congrats to Clare! And I think you did just the right choice, Beth, with the sewing. I will ship out my VERY LAST custom order for this year on Tuesday or on Wednesday the latest, and after that I will take it slow. The year has been long and busy, and we also have other life than our businesses. And as you said, it’s great to have something ready for next year too!

    And those calendars looks great, and I’m so happy my nephew is not the only one being spoiled with more than one… 🙂 I will blog about them tomorrow.

    Happy December!

    Yours,
    Mia

  4. Congratulations to the winner 🙂 hope you enjoy a bit of a pre Christmas break Beth, a little break from sewing will do you good no doubt…don’t worry your not alone, I haven’t got much paper cutting done what with work/ Christmas preparations going on, there aren’t enough hours in the day! I love your advent calendars tho, must be wonderful for your boys to open each day 🙂 safxxx

  5. Well done to the very lucky winner! I love the advent socks, so colourful. We haven’t got many decorations out yet, but we have two of the playmobil sets that are now a christmas tradition. I now have a major clean to do, the house is full of chimney soot, as we are reinstating the fire in the front room.Hubby even brushed the side if the chimney in the loft- which has drifted down into my workroom!!!

  6. So glad someone else has many advent calendars! We purchased the Lego one as Patch loved it so much last year, then there’s one from Granny & Grandpa, a lovely Olive the Other Reindeer one from his Goodmums… It takes a while each morning! Oh, and then we have an advent book calendar type thing too. Oh my.

    Love the wooden Christmas decoration! I think it is time to get festive…

Leave a Reply

