Not Such A Bag Lady…

Thanks for all your lovely comments and enthusiasm for the 1940’s suit.  I am quite excited to get making but I’m going to wait for that pivotal half-stone weight loss (around this point, I tend to lose quite a bit of my general figure, rather than just all that nice internal fat I’ve built up around my belly)

dsc_0233

In contrast to my bag lady dress confessions in the last post, I thought I’d share a bit more about how my brain works re clothing plus add some of my favourite shop links (they should all be clickable).

I am taking the boys away tomorrow, on my own, on a train.  Basically, I had put this school holiday into the calendar as a one week break and it was only when F pointed out that this one is a ‘longer one’ that I realised my mistake.  I really feel the need to get away, to breathe fresh(er) air, do some walking, see some green rolling hills and give the boys a change of scenery, so I checked out the train times and booked us some tickets.  M will join is with the car later in the week.  That means I have to take everything we need, including most of the food (as we will be car-less and there are no shops near by) in my medium-sized Orla K suitcase.

I am good at this, I am a planner and can pack well into small spaces, I like the challenge (I lead a simple life, you know).  M laughed at me once, when pre-kids I made him stop at the big supermarket next to Inverness airport so we could buy lots of food, we were on our way to a remote National Trust cottage.  He laughed less when he realised we had to drive for 40 mins over pretty scary roads just to buy a pint of milk.

DSC_0021

To travel, I shall be wearing some fabulous Toast wide leg wool trouser that I bought for next to nothing in the archive sale (I have just noticed, they are having an archive sale RIGHT NOW, so go grab a bargain), a Brora silk blouse that I’ve owned for years, my very favourite wardrobe staple (again, only ever bought in the sale) cashmere t-shirt from Pure…looking a bobbly there under the arms, on which note Brora verses Pure, I have ‘T-shirt’ style sweaters from both, Brora wins as the cashmere seems to wear a lot better and all of mine goes in the machine on a wool wash, I am too lazy to hand wash, oh and the trousers were bought extra long then also wool washed to shrink them before taking them up to the final length, as I can’t cope with dry cleaning costs.  Finally a pair of Chie Mihara shoes.  I’ve spared you to site of my suck-em-in knickers.  When I am slimmer, I plan to buy myself the Glamour Underbust Panty Girdle from What Katie Did, I stalk this site regularly drooling over the lovely vintage style undies.

DSC_0018

I am packing a tweed kick-pleat skirt, some wool tights, this cute vintage sweater (another favourite, came from Etsy seller Frida Larsen, which I do hand wash, very carefully, incidentally), some tops to wear under the sweaters and all the obvious stuff like knickers and a nightie.  I’ve also made room for my walking shoes and a waterproof jacket.  Yes, yes, it would be a lot simpler if I just wore the shoes and waterproof to travel in but a lot less fun and yes I do also often just wear jeans etc, but I am feeling all wool and tweedy at the moment, I think it’s this dismal weather.

DSC_0019

I plan to wear a watch, not something I do much these days but carrying a car booster seat, a suitcase and bag, plus trying to get the boys up and down all the stairs will be enough without trying to fish out my phone to check the time, and I do have the worlds largest collection of vintage watches.  Seriously, take a look.  The fob watches are all courtesy of Grandad, via Mum.  Long story and perhaps too boring for you really so I’ll skip it.

DSC_0035

The 1950’s boys military watch was a recent buy.  The boys and M took me to a vintage fair in London for Mother’s Day and gave me some spending money.  There were some lovely clothes there, but in all honestly, there is a wider selection available on-line these days, so I opted for the watch, which I fell in love with.  I would wear it for this journey but it ticks SO LOUDLY that I fear my fellow passengers might not be pleased, so I’m going for the mens one just next to it instead.

DSC_0040

I did buy this cheap and cheerful bracelet whilst we were at the fair as well.  The trip was a surprise, but the boys are so rubbish at surprises, they kept asking me if I liked, “old stuff, like clothes and things” and “would I enjoy a fashion show, of old things?” so they kind of gave the game away.  Lovely idea though.

DSC_0020

Charlie has packed.  All he has to fit in are toys (I’m taking the rest of their stuff) and I’m making them use the messenger bags I made instead of their usual Trunkis.  I meant to say, these bags have been brilliant, especially with the laminate lining, we use them for swimming each week.

So wish me luck, I’ve never travelled on my own with the boys but it will be fine.  Oh and we are travelling first class for the main bit, there were Advance tickets left that cost a tiny bit more than economy but there is free food, drink, wi-fi and plug sockets (for the boys, I plan to plug them into laptops and movies and put then in headphones) and more importantly, free wine for me, should be fun 🙂

25 thoughts on “Not Such A Bag Lady…

  1. Best of luck to you Beth 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful break with your boys, I’m sure you’ll all have a lovely time 🙂 And I am loving the outfits you have packed too! Especially that lovely orange wool jumper with the flower decoration, beautiful! I am also coveting your amazing collection of vintage watches, especially love the watch fob, beautiful 🙂 I want to one day own a Victorian watch fob too! It is lovely your husband and your boys treated you at the fair and bought you such lovely things, they must know you well as that bracelet looks lovely. Have e wonderful holiday and good luck with the train journey, I always take an enormous book with me on the journey to devon every week, helps the time fly by! Have a lovely one, Safxxx

    • Hi Saf, it was great of the boys (and M) to take me to a vintage fair, I was very impressed and had a lovely day out. We had such a nice little holiday, the boys were so good, if a little hyper, but the help of DVD players and headphones helped on the train, kept them quiet and amused, plus I got to read – bonus!! Bethx

  2. What an adventure for the boys and free wine, woohoo! 🙂
    I love Charlie’s black swan! I also love how they gave the secret away, very cute .
    My husband would love your watch collection, he has a ‘thing’ about watches too.
    Have fun Beth. 🙂
    V xxx

    • Hi Vivienne, Charlie’s black swan is a big favourite, it came from Leeds Castle, where we go a lot (and they have black swans). I did enjoy that wine, I felt very naughty as I don’t normally drink when ‘in charge’ of the boys but it did make the long journey nice and relaxing. Thank goodness for the boys portable DVD player! Bethx

  3. This sounds like such an adventure Beth, the boys will love it and the change of routine is just so good for everyone. Have a fab time, your wardrobe looks perfect and so will be your time keeping ;0) I love seeing what youngsters pack…mind you my son was not much better when he went to the states recently, it was the golf clubs which he remembered and not a lot else. Looking forward to seeing some photos ;0)
    Jane x

  4. Another lovely and interesting blog pot. Are you on facebook? I often post links to your blogs on my page and it would eb great to ‘like’ your page if you have one. Thanks, Olive Homeware x

    • Hello 🙂 Thanks so much for linking from FB, I am rubbish and don’t have a FB account, at least not for The Linen Cat, I just about cope with tweeting and blogging to be honest. Your shop is lovely, I will pop over and ‘like’ from my personal account. Thanks for dropping by and commenting. Beth

  5. Good luck with the travelling. I love your watches, and don’t think a post about them would be boring at all!

  6. I keep meaning to take my girls on a long train journey to stay away somewhere. They’re big enough now that we could manage it, I’m sure. Have a lovely trip – is it odd to confess that I am very envious of your luggage?

    • Ha ha – if you mean my Orla Kiely bag, it has been a great buy. I’m not sure she does them anymore, at least not in this size…I bought it some time ago in the sale. Bx

  7. I love the vintage pieces, I used to be allowed to ‘play’ with my dads watch which had a chunky chain and a silver envelope for stamps. It’s wonderful to see parts of your vintage wardrobe, I’ve never thought of buying vintage clothing online, but I love the idea of original pieces.
    Hope you have a very calm and civilised journey and time away. Flissx

    • There are so many lovely vintage things available now on Etsy, I really recommend a look around. I often limit my search to UK shops, or just those in Europe to avoid import tax etc, but sadly the really nice shops are often in the US. I so love things with a bit of history though. Bethx

  8. do invest in a cashmere comb: for a mere £2.50 investment bobbles on woollens disappear! yes, available at Brora – best £2.50 ever spent

  9. I am so impressed with your organisational skills, getting all that into one (gorgeous) bag! Have a lovely break. Julie x

    • I have to say, even I was impressed, especially when I tucked into my chicken curry, complete with fresh coriander and mini nan bread, all brought with me! Perhaps a bit overboard but it made my first night very pleasant and shhhh, don’t tell anyone, but I made room for 2 bottles of wine as well (not just for me, I was expecting my Brother + SIL to call around). Bx

  10. You surely know how to travel in style. I could never travel so lightly and with so much style. I can picture you in one of those vintage films. How nice… You are so great getting good deals.

Leave a Reply

