A Small Interlude…

I feel like this post should start with an image of a potter’s wheel….or maybe this one,

Testcard_F

as quite frankly there has been a break down in transmission.  Not sure why, I kind of stopped shop sewing when Mum became ill and I’ve never really got back into it, instead I’ve been busy in the garden and the house, trying to get this hectic home into shape.  I am sitting in the sewing room for the first time in weeks, today.

DSC_0025

I have popped in here every so often, mainly to continue sewing apples.  I feel like I have been working on these FOREVER.  I do hope to finish them one day, ideally soon, just so I can move onto something else guilt free.

DSC_0026

I’ve also been carrying a tray of flowers around with me, some sunny yellow ones and some double pinks for next Autumn.  I may finish these as well, one day….maybe.

DSC_0015

On the diet side, it’s a slow process but it is working and probably because I’m not sewing.  I generally do lose weight, when I don’t sit in front of my machine all day.  We (husband and I) have been talking about building a studio for me in the garden, I dream of a multi-height surface so I can sometimes stand to work, I used to do this when I had a desk job, as it helps my back and generally feels so much better than sitting all day, but in the current space I don’t have room for different height tables.  Obviously M is dreaming of a house free of sewing and shop stuff, and I can’t blame him really.

DSC_0018

I have also been a very lucky girl, I got a bonus (hurrah!) for being a good wife (not really, but it was courtesy of M, thank you lovely husband) and I spent it all on new clothes.  When I am a bit fed-up, I spend money, if I can afford to that is.  Not really a good thing, but it’s the truth.  I should say, I’m not nearly as depressed as I sound, I’ve  just been a bit up and down recently and sometimes I’ve felt in need of a boost.  So, obviously, from the images above, there has been a new pair of Swedish Hasbeens.  I’m lacking summer footwear that fits between walking shoes and heels, hopefully these will plug that gap.

DSC_0025

I also have a new shop love, Edith and Ella of Copenhagen.

top

This was the top I intended to buy, but as it’s shipped here to the UK, at a cost, I added some sale items as well.  I can’t believe I just wrote that, it’s like buying the BOGOF at the supermarket and thinking, oh well, if I buy three, instead of one, it’s sooooo much cheaper…..er yes, but only if you actually NEED three in the first place, or even the one, otherwise just don’t buy any!  To be fair, the sale items  (a red sailor collar dress and a skirt) were very lovely, I wasn’t buying just for the sake of it.

DSC_0031DSC_0027 DSC_0029The quality is great, the packaging lovely, they came with free sweets (always a winner…..oh crap, the diet, OK, scrap that) and the best bit…..a free umbrella!  They must have heard about our British weather 😉  I wont be shopping there loads as it’s a bit out of my price range, although It think the sale side has lots of potential.  It was such a delightful package to open and the green top is fabulous.

DSC_0044 DSC_0056 DSC_0025

I wore it with some high-waisted, wide-legged trousers and an attempt at setting my hair (using my Mum’s old rollers, found in her attic) for a day out in London with my sister.  I’m not sure why I always look so serious when I attempt to photograph myself, I think it’s just that I’m concentrating on holding the camera so I don’t photograph the ceiling.  Still you get the idea.

Best get on, I’ve locked the credit card away for now and I need to try to finish the apple aprons, ideally some time this year 🙂

25 thoughts on “A Small Interlude…

  1. Well Beth, I think they are all good investments really 😉 I love your Edith and Ella green top with the beautiful lacy collar and you look lovely with your 1950’s style vintage rolled hair! Don’t worry, I know what you mean about the spending a fortune when you feel fed up, I have been doing the same and do feel the guilt. But I really believe it helps! (oh dear, I have a bad conscious, can you tell?!) I’m sure you’ll get back into the swing of things on the sewing front. And I think the idea of a studio in your garden is a lovely idea, as it would be your own private space which would help with stock/ having space to stand etc..I love your little sewn flowers, they look so pretty all stacked together. I have been trying to stay productive but not getting very far but its a work in progress really… I do hope you escape your creative lull soon, if not keep shopping! 😉 Safxxx

    • Hello Saf, your keep shopping comment made me laugh! I am much cheerier, thank you, a weekend away has sorted everything, I hope you too are escaping your lull, I think creativity ebbs and flows, or at least that’s the case with me. Hope all is well. Bethxx

  2. Ah yes I can very much relate to the emotional comfort shopping online. Love the shoes, and will check out that clothing shop! The photo of you in your rollers is gorgeous 🙂

  3. I think I’d have a similar expression in self portraits too – it isn’t easy! I love your new buys, and I think they were well deserved. There’s nothing wrong with a little bit of spending to help cheer yourself up. It definitely helps with me.
    Hoping you have a lovely weekend. Juliex

  4. I think we all need a treat to pick us up sometimes and there’s no point in doing it if there’s guilt at the end of it. I love that you got a free umbrella and sweets with your parcel! Your top looks fab with your new red hair. Glad to see you are back to a little bit of sewing… get a move on though I want one of those aprons!! Julie x

    • Ha ha, I am working on them (the aprons) they are just taking quite a long time, lots of bits of the process. You are right, there should be no guilt in shopping or there’s no point 🙂 Bethx

  5. It’s only to be expected to feel like you do after losing your Mum, Beth.
    Just you do what you need to, to get through it and if that involves shopping, then so be it!
    Love your green top. 🙂
    V xxx

  6. You are doing just fine Beth, don’t be so hard on yourself and enjoy some self indulgence sometimes. You look beautiful with your hair rolled ;0) and I love that top and your shoes. One step at a time…..;0)
    Take care, Jane x

  7. I know exactly what you mean about the no sewing, I’ve been the same with knitting.. tiny bit here and a tiny bit there . It will come back to you in good time I’m sure just it one day at a time . Your hair looks stunning with the green top . Thinking of you xx

    • Tough isn’t it? I like being busy though, so force myself to get on with something then find I get into a roll and all is well for a while. I hope you’re doing OK? I am yet again behind with my reading. I’m glad it’s summer, the longer, brighter days help a little. Bethx

  8. well, you look gorgeous, beth! clearly treats agree with you 🙂

    i think it’s really good to take time out to do the other things you need to do, on a whim, as and when you fancy – the sewing mojo will come back when you’re in the middle of something else. it took finally tackling the fall-y down ceiling, for me to realise that there was nothing i’d rather be doing more than stitching in the clean, enjoying alone time with music. (ie not doing the ceiling after all)
    x

  9. Hello dear Beth,

    I really, really love your red hair, suits you wonderful, and that green is looking amazing on you. And those old roller’s from your Mom… What a lovely find, and wonderful image of you with them on, very vintage, I can still remember my mum using those when I was little. So all this said your retail-therapy was ever so needed, and seem to be working perfectly too. I also wish you’ll get the new studio soon…

    Happy creating and many sunny days for boys to enjoy outside!

    Yours,
    Mia

  10. Oh my, so many lovely things! Dreamy green top-that lacy collar!, sweet makes and gorgeous hair do! Oh yes, and dreams of a garden studio… Do hope all those things are making you oh so cheery

    • The green top is already being well worn, I love it when a purchase really works out and earns it’s cost and this is certainly the case here. I am much cheerier, thank you 🙂

  11. The hair is fantastic!! I love the effect of the rollers. Fresh and retro all at once. I agree that natural colored hair is overrated. Why not have fun with it?

  12. I love your new buys, the Edith and Ella shop is gorgeous! I too can empathise with buying something to cheer myself up. I was bought up with that Saturday shop activity. I had to break the habit when I got married! I suppose I swapped ‘proper shops’ with charity shops! I have got fed up with chucking out many purchases, so have cut right down.

    • I need to cut back, but I do find it cheers me to shop, not in real life though, I am firmly an internet shopper, I find real shopping a bit stressful as I rarely find anything I like or need but I know all my favourite on-line places and wait eagerly for the sales! Bethx

  13. O gosh. Edith & Ella and Hasbeens in the same post. You look absolutely gorgeous with those curls and the green cardi. Smashing!
    I hope you can find some zen soon to start sewing again!

    Cheers!
    Barbara

Leave a Reply

