Teachers Gifts 2013…

We’ve just written the cards for this year’s teachers gifts, as next week, school’s out for summer – hurrah!  I have to say, we are ready, I can’t wait for a break from school run and to hang out with the boys for a bit…no doubt, come September I will be eagerly awaiting their return but let’s not think about that now.

DSC_0044

So this year it’s flower brooch cards.  I had a few left over from the shop.

DSC_0050

When I designed them, I though it was a genius idea to have the brooches mounted into cards, so they could be a kind of two in one thing, a gift and card together (the first being made for my Mum on her birthday back in 2011), but sales show that actually, people prefer to just buy the brooches on their own (which come mounted on a small square of card anyway).  So rather than have them sit in a box I figured they’d make nice gifts….there’s a little less child input than our normal gifts, but the boys enjoyed choosing the colours and writing the cards.

I thought it might be nice to do a round-up of past gifts, partly for myself to be honest, so below are some images and the links to the relevant posts (not sure that links show up well since I migrated to the new blog layout, but I do try to make relevant things clickable).

July 2009, for F’s key-workers at pre-school it was a mixture of chocolates, soap and one of the original lavender birds…wow, I’d forgotten they looked like this, the design has come a long way, I think.

DSC_0239 DSC_0241Next up was July 2010, with a mixture of bought notebooks (from Sarah Waterhouse), lavender birds and homemade jam all packed up with little birds from the shop.

DSC_0235 DSC_0249 DSC_0240 DSC_0230

December 2010, Santas – I hope to make some of these for the shop this year.

DSC_0229 DSC_0235 DSC_0263

July 2011, was a mixture of jam with little birds, again, and linen bags.  We’ve borrowed this idea today, with a jar of home made jam for a training teaching assistant complete with bird.  We also gave the jam at Christmas (for the then, new teachers).

DSC_0026 DSC_0036 DSC_0034 DSC_0032Last year I made the apple lavender bags, and the boys wrote messages on the back that I free machine embroidered on.  We also gave little birds at Christmas, mounted on cards with messages and some pretty foil wrapped chocolates added (I never photographed or blogged these as we were too busy)

DSC_0012

I rather enjoyed writing this post, mainly because to find the photos, I looked at the entire media library for this blog and got all nostalgic over the hundreds of images from the past.  It was quite fun, after I waited an age for them to upload.  Sorry if it’s a bit self-indulgent, it’s just nice to look back sometimes.

Must dash as I have Sunday lunch to start cooking 🙂

Oh and thanks for the fabulous response to the apple aprons, I was so pleased they were popular, and just so I’ve mentioned it, the shop will be shutting down for a big chunk of the summer holidays as of next week, we are around on and off but it’s too patchy to keep it open full-time.

8 thoughts on “Teachers Gifts 2013…

  1. Really wishing you a fabulous summer off Beth, very well deserved 🙂 I’ve just come back from a weeks holiday and feel much better for it. Felix and Charlie’s teachers are very lucky, very lovely gifts, I have always enjoyed reading about what you’ve put together, I love the description on the jam labels! The linen bags and apples are my favourite, also the way you have packaged them over the years is lovely, really hope you have a lovely summer with your boys, love safxxx

  2. I would be very happy to be Felix or Charlie’s teacher – what fab gifts! I’ve also made bags in the patterned linen – I love that fabric, it’s expensive, but a little goes a long way. Have a lovely summer with the boys. Julie x

  3. What a lovely post, Beth,

    And some fantastic gifts! As former gift-receiver 🙂 I really love those with boys touch, their pictures (looking SO happy!), and own writing – priceless! I wish you all the most wonderful holidays, may they be sunny, fun and relaxing!

    Yours,
    Mia

  4. You’re teacher’s gifts are always beautiful, Beth. Your boys teachers, and assistants, are very lucky people.
    I’ve just got to finish sewing a bag to go with the covered notebook I made for Violet’s teaching assistant – I really hope she likes ‘homemade’ (and amateur homemade at that).
    For Violet’s teacher, I decided on a cinema gift card.
    I’ll probably throw in some nice chocolates for good measure.
    Wishing you and your family a wonderful Summer break.
    Jill xxx

  5. It’s always nice to look back! Your boys teachers do very well! Gorgeous gifts !
    Have a lovely summer break with your boys!
    V xxx

  6. What lucky teachers Beth to have such carefully made and thought about gifts. I am sure there are arguments in the staff room as to who has your boys for the next year. Enjoy the summer and let’s hope this wonderful weather lasts a little longer. Take care x

Leave a Reply

