Printed Fabric…

I just received the nicest email, that really did make me smile.  An online pal has just come top in the Spoonflower Weekly Design Challenge for October 23 (see the design, plus the other winners here), which is brilliant (and well deserved!) news.

Screen shot 2013-10-25 at 06.54.33

What a fantastic design.  You really can’t beat Spoonflower for this kind of thing, it’s such an excellent platform for people to get their ideas out there and this is a winner of a costume for Halloween.  You can see all of Ceri’s fabric here.

rrrHalloween_Costume_cut_and_sew_56in_AW_comment_369063_preview

Whenever I see this style of print, it reminds me of Clothkits kits from the olden days, oh how I loved my Clothkits dresses.  I was always very envious of my cousin, who had the Clothkits doll and a mini version of many of her dresses in doll size.  We didn’t have the doll.  It may have scarred me for life 😉

Screen shot 2013-10-25 at 07.14.05

I just popped over to the new Clothkits site, to see what’s on there at the moment and look!  You can buy the original doll from 1978…..I remember that dress well.

Screen shot 2013-10-25 at 07.08.04

 

But I’m thinking that the 50’s Vintage Teadress Pattern is probably more my thing these days 🙂

12 thoughts on “Printed Fabric…

  1. I’m on the spoonflower mailing list and usually just glance at it and delete it…..but yesterday I followed back to their site especially to look at Ceri’s design. I really love it. I got as far as working out whether it would get here in time for halloween for the girls if I ordered it yesterday – it won’t! But I have pinned it and probably will order a yard at some point as I think Katie will love dressing up as a bird. I think the colours are just stunning. Juliex

  2. Oh thank you Beth for featuring this. You are so kind! And thank you Julie for your lovely comments about it. I think Spoonflower got the timings wrong for Halloween themes this year – one of the reasons I chose a more generic, non-spooky design, so that it has a bit more of a life. I couldn’t sleep last night I was so excited! And Beth, I loved Clothkits too as a child. I remember my mother used to take me to the shop in Bath. It was like Aladdin’s cave.

  3. What a fantastic idea, and so colourful. I often browse through Spoonflower, but I’ve never bought anything from there. Though I’m very tempted by this pattern, and Violet would love it. Well done Ceri for thinking up such a fun, clever design. x

  4. Wow, really gorgeous design! I love the bright colours, Ceri has done very well 🙂 I didn’t know about this Spoonflower site but it looks like a great idea and I’m going to go over and check it out now. Lovely 50’s dress too! Love the fabric, Safxxx

  5. Hello! Greetings from Spain! I have just discovered your blog, love it, love your designs as well and so happy to see that my kids are not the only ones being vomiting sick at present 😉

  6. Blogging two days running?!? Steady on! Yesterday reminded me I wanted to order from you, but I’m afraid that doesn’t work two days’ running 😉 What beautiful fabric…

  7. Beautiful fabric. I’ll check out more of Ceri’s designs. I love the folkloric pattern on the doll. I’m sure they were/are popular.
    Happy weekend to you, Beth.

    Anne xx
    PlumCreek22

  8. A fantastic design! I have only recently discovered Clothkits, I would have loved it as a child too, it won’t matter if you buy a doll now Beth! You could display the doll AND her dresses on a spare bed, it would heal any childhood scars!

Leave a Reply

