Sale Shopping: Dresses…

Just a very quick post as the sales have started and I’d squirreled away some money to spend.

0910b6987d132fe96a452f0161a89f23

I got hyper-excited because Orla Kiely had put this dress into their sale section under the pre-season banner, with quite a lot off the original price, I even put it in my ‘basket’ but then thought, no, I don’t need any more OK dresses, I’ve been collecting them for years and lovely though they are, I tend to save them for best (they are often silk and need dry cleaning) so they don’t get worn often and in complete truth Orla Kiely is out of my price range these days, even in the sale section (I should add, I have pretty much only ever bought sale items).

14WSPR_WH640_YEL

Instead I went for this pretty cotton number from Boden, and it works well, it’s light and easy to wear and has enough of a vintage vibe to keep me happy.

14WSPR_WH640_LBL

In fact I am so pleased, I’ve also ordered this version (both 40% off at the mo).

I_184873185_00_20130618

Finally, I somehow found myself buying this mustard frock by Mary Portas from the House of Fraser sale. Β I know her things are comfortable and often very flattering so it should be a winner and hopefully I’ll got loads of wear out of it.

Done. Β There will be no more shopping for a good while for me now πŸ™‚

20 thoughts on “Sale Shopping: Dresses…

    • I can’t afford them any more V 😦 the Orla K dress I really liked this season cost Β£650!!!!!!!!!! that’s as much as my wedding dress so maybe not. I am still a fan though, I was clearing my wardrobe the other day and I do have a lot of her stuff going back many, many years. I just need to win the lottery….which would involve actually entering it at some point! πŸ™‚ Bx

  1. Am in love with your mustard boden dress Beth, so lovely πŸ™‚ enjoy your buys, it’s nice to have some summer dresses in this hot weather πŸ™‚ hope your having a lovely weekend, safxxx

    • I agree, it’s certainly more wearable and so very easy to wash. I’ve pretty much worn both Boden dresses on rotation since they arrived! Oh and you’d be surprised how good the Portas dresses look on, I am by no means a tidy figure underneath but they work well!! Bxx

  2. I love the style of the dresses, and I am in love too with the Boden one! I’ve just popped over to look at the Portas lines- very stylish and easy to wear. I hope you get them soon. Flissx

    • Hi Fliss. My sister wears a lot of the Portas stuff, it’s often very flattering, I didn’t mention as couldn’t find a photo, but I bagged a red dress for 30 pounds (should have been about 125) at the same time, the last one, I think and in my size. They knit they are made out of is quite heavy so they hide all sorts of bumps and bulges – for me a big bonus! Bx

  3. I seriously love your blog.. Excellent colors & theme.
    Did you develop this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m attempting to create my own personal
    blog and want to know where you got this from or what the theme
    is named. Appreciate it!

  4. I have that Boden dress in navy – I LOVE it – enjoy yours. Btw I wear mine with a particularly lovely pair of Clarks wedges in 50’s ochre which would look even lovelier with your yellow version of my dress – just a teeny bit more shopping?!

  5. You must have been so tempted to press the purchase button on that Orla Kiely dress – it’s really pretty and totally right up your street. Saying that, I love the ones you opted for instead, especially the second one.
    I knew Mary Portass had a line, but haven’t had a look at them myself – I’ve been too busy buying some things in the Phase Eight sale!!!!
    Jill xxx

    • Hi Jill, my finger did hover over the ‘buy’ button for a while but it was the right decision to go with the Boden ones as they have been worn over and over already. I like some (not all) of the Mary P stuff, my sister only has good things to say about her ‘kinky knickers’ range that employs UK staff etc. I’m actively deleting sale emails as they arrive in my inbox, just so I don’t get tempted anymore – ha! Bxx

  6. Oh you do have such lovely taste in dresses! A danger for me to read this post… I fancy finding a sunny beach/seaside town print fabric and making a dress. Must look!

  7. Wonderful summery dresses. My favorites are the top 2. Hoping you have some warm summer days to wear them, Beth. It’s been rainy and now humid here. Hoping for a better July.
    Anne xx
    PC22

  8. I’ve fallen in love with your yellow dress. I don’t know how I missed it as I regularly trawl the Boden site. Probably because its sleeveless and I tend to avoid them (bingo wings), but I can always cover them up with a little card. I hope you don’t mind but I’ve just ordered one. πŸ™‚

    • Of course I don’t mind! Glad you liked it enough to buy one….my upper arms aren’t the best, but oddly I only recently noticed, I just (mostly) don’t care and as you suggested, I also wear a cardi if I do. It’s a really good dress, I’ve worn it endlessly since buying it. Bxx

Leave a Reply

