Gardening Apron…

UPDATE: I just changed the name to Red Hand Apron and now I have the theme to the Red Hand Gang running through my head…..showing my age there 😉

Finally, something new to show you!  I know, it’s a miracle!!  To be honest, I had thought it might be the end of the summer holidays before I actually got around to getting anything photographed and listed, but we had a rare hazy cloud this morning, so before (the last, for a while – hurrah!) school run, I took some swift photos so I could finally share at least one of the new designs.

Winter 77019The idea for this design goes way back, actually to when I was scanning my Dad’s slides some years ago.  The image of these jolly little dungarees, kindly modelled by my brother at some point in the late 70’s, coincided with my want to make an apron, I loved the idea of the simple red hand on denim.  It was around this time, that I got distracted by the Apple Aprons, but the idea stayed with me and was always on the list of ‘must’ makes.

DSC_0034

Skip a few years to early 2013, when I saw and bought this linen (Lecien-Isso Ecco and Heart – Red Birds and Trees), specifically for the project, but by then I was a bit aproned out and decided to take a break from sewing on miles and miles of bias binding.

DSC_0061This Spring, I became excited by the garden.  I’d rather lost my focus in recent years, I find I feel a bit thinly spread sometimes and often it’s things like the garden that suffer, but with renewed enthusiasm I decided to get on with the gardening aprons (it was always an apron for the garden in my head, no idea why!) as it’s something I wanted to use myself.  DSC_0062I pulled fabrics from stock and had a play to decide on the pocket details.  After trying all kinds of ideas, including solid block stripes of linen at the top, I settled on a subtle line of ric-rac peeking out of the seam of the ‘hand’.  I really like it, it adds a simple detail without going over-board.

DSC_0131

There are a few changes in method from the apple aprons.  I only included 2 pleats on the waistband and they aren’t stitched down plus they have been moved slightly further apart so they fall above the hand opening.DSC_0091 The waist ties are not bound in bias binding, but have a little sandwiched between the seams, so it allows for the same look as the apple aprons but removes the nightmare that was involved in attaching those to the apron bib.  It’s these little details that keep me awake at night.  These bibs had been half stitched for some time, but I couldn’t decide on how to finish off the ties themselves, I imagine sewing things together in my head when I’m trying to sleep, which can be annoying but it usually results in a solution and I’m especially pleased with this one.

DSC_0049All the fabric is pre-washed (40 degrees, wool wash, because of the linen) and I was pleased to be able to use denim from my stash as well as the royal blue linen on the apron reverse.  Because it was stash denim and I practically used every last inch, there is a single join in each of the apron tie lengths, but it’s quite neat looking so I’m happy with that.
DSC_0114They are listed here on my own website.  My Folksy shop is rather neglected but I’ll be filling it up in September, when I come to list all the new stock.

I’m rushing to get this post written and published, I’d forgotten how long it takes to edit photos, and get the whole lot uploaded to the shop, or that I’d need to do this before blogging; but I’m keen to be done with this one before I pick the boys up.

I’m sure I’ll be blogging here and there, over summer, but if not, see you on the other side!

 

16 thoughts on “Gardening Apron…

  1. So cute, Beth, those are lovely aprons! Quick question if you don’t mind: have you ever made an Ewok outfit?!? Rosie has just discovered Star Wars, and loves the ewoks. She is desperate to make one, so we bought half a metre of fur at the market this morning. I’m not a toy maker, so think we’ll just do an outline of a bear, and sew front and back together with a little stuffing. No idea how we do the hood though! Hope you are all enjoying the summer.

  2. This is a great apron Beth..those hand pockets are so useful. Your designs are always so perfectly executed. Enjoy the summer break and hope to see you around in blog land. Just a heads up..I have my annual bloggerversary giveaway starting this Saturday I’d love to see you join in xx

  3. These are wonderful Beth 🙂 I love the hand shaped pockets!!! And the red birdy material is lovely in combo with the denim, just gorgeous 🙂 you must be chuffed with them. I think they would be great for baking cake in! The yellow ric-rac detail on the pocket is perfect, I love the simplicity of them, very original. Your design skills defiantly shine through in these. Have a wonderful summer break with your boys, you deserve a lovely holiday 🙂 safxxx

  4. Oh my goodness Beth they are just beautiful! And absolutely with your signature style and attention to detail. I love the inspiration photo of your brother. If any of my boys was still small enough I’d want to copy those overalls for them!

  5. Hello Beth,

    What a wonderful post featuring the original idea (and the model! Love him!) and all the way to the perfect, ready-to-ship product! I loved reading this post, and as always: You’ve created a perfectly Beth-looking and fantastic apron, wow. And your skills and eye for details… You know what I think!

    Have a wonderful weekend soon, hope it’s not too hot&humid at yours, it is a bit of a jungle-feel here, at nights too…

    Yours,
    Mia

  6. Love them, and the photo of your brother that inspired them. I do hope the holidays have started well and that you and the boys are having fun.
    I can completely understand what you say about feeling spread a little thin regarding the garden etc – I’m beginning to wonder, since moving to a house which has a pretty big garden (especially for a new build), how I’ll balance out sewing and gardening. I love them both – at the moment the garden is winning over since the weather is so fabulous and I can’t contain my excitement at having some land to play with! Juliex

  7. I love hearing about your design inspiration and processes Beth. These may have taken a while to come in to fruition, but the design and construction are beautiful. I’m sure they’ll be snapped up by all those fashionable green fingered folk out there.
    Hope you and your family are enjoying the start of the summer holidays. Have fun.
    Jill xxx

  8. I received mine today and am very happy, as always amazing attention to detail; so well made. I am looking forward to using it in the garden with enough pocket space for scissors, string and pruning shears which I usually end up leaving somewhere! I love that I know the process of the design and inspiration too – thank you so very much! Now I am looking forward to what you have next in store… still hoping for a bunny purse!!
    Best wishes, Cat 🙂

  9. Pingback: We’re having a heatwave… | Rock Cottage Year

  10. Beautiful as always Beth! Quite a few years ago one of the Scandinavian children’s clothes companies were making a hoody with huge mittens stuck to the front and I totally fell in love with it. Unfortunately they didn’t make it in sizes big enough to fit Gwen. So I made my own! It has remained one of my favourite things I ever made for her and your lovely apron reminds me so much of it. Gorgeous gorgeous work!

Leave a Reply

