Wolves and Kitty-cats!

School charity day and yet another opportunity for me to try and weasel out of making costumes for the boys to wear, in this case, a call for animal theme of their choice (I suggested a stoat, as F made a fab stoat mask some years ago for topic homework that is still stuck to his noticeboard in his room, but he was having none of it).

Screen Shot 2015-07-14 at 16.19.16

Under pressure, I agreed to make masks (to be worn with their own clothes as the pay-off).  F asked for a wolf and C a ‘kitty-cat’.  I forgot about it until the day before, when having a lovely ladies lunch, but luckily I remembered I had this pdf download from oxeyedaisey

DSC_0231I used a mix of linen and tweed, as that’s what I had in stock and totally ignored the making instructions (which I have no doubt are brilliant) and went with the same method I used to make skeleton masks back in 2010 (see here), ie layering fabrics and interfacing and using various machine stitches to attach them together.

DSC_0162I thought they would be quick.  They weren’t.  To be fair, this was mainly time taken up with stupid things like hunting for fabric and elastic, but I got there in the end and I was quite pleased with the results.  The cat is just the wolf pattern adapted, shorter ears and snout and added whiskers as C was very keen to get whiskers.

Screen Shot 2015-06-10 at 18.23.29On a completely random note, Grimwith House came up for sale a few weeks back.  It may already have sold, I don’t even look any more, as I get little flutters of want just at the idea.  I’ve been hankering after this derelict property for many, many years, wondering why it was unlived in and unloved….it once belonged to my relatives.  I could buy it but never afford to do it up.

Ah well, I’m sure someone will make a beautiful home of it and I’ll jealously try not to stare next time I’m walking up in the Dales 🙂

Back Camera

7 thoughts on “Wolves and Kitty-cats!

  1. Wow, what an amazing place that would be to live!! I will just join you in sighing longingly.
    Those masks are great. I love that ‘linen and tweed’ was all you had around to use 😀
    I will have to Pin that mask pattern for future reference. There are still a few dressups to be had in our household. Clem recently wanted to an ‘Egyptian Eagle God’ mask/headdress for a circus school performance. I pulled something together – hooray for sewing!

  2. Hi Beth,
    Love your wolf/ kitty masks. I’m always amazed at how your can construct and make things like this, your very skilled, they look brilliant, bet your boys are chuffed with them. Your dream place is gorgeous, the location is just wow! Your not alone with the fantasy buying, this is my current house obsession:

    http://www.rightmove.co.uk/property-for-sale/property-31991295.html?premiumA=true

    I love the idea of living in a cottage, couldn’t even afford a flat but a girl can dream! Maybe one day we’ll win the lottery! 😉 hope your enjoying the summer, love Safxxx

Leave a Reply

